Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Article Databases

These databases also contain other secondary sources, such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more. 

America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
covers the United States & Canada. Note: Allows 6 users at a time. Please try again later if you are not able to access this resource.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
provides full-text access to an archive of journals in a range of subject areas, including history, law, and literature.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
is a multidisciplinary database that contains scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete. Coverage Dates: 1905 - Present

Websites

New Hanover County Public Library - NC History

is the website for NHCPL's Special Collections and Archives. They have both print/microform and digital collections. There is contact information on the page if you need to check to see whether they have materials related to your topic.

[More details]

Government Resources

HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
offers Congressional documents, full text of the Congressional Record, Supreme Court cases, and legal journals.
Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. It provides access to Congressional documents.
Use the Legal search to find documents and opinions from court cases.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) - Science and Technology

provides data on enviromental issues related to air, land, water, health, pesticides, and more. 

[More details]
Environmental Impact Statements

has EIS documents from 2004-present.

[More details]
Credo Reference - American Environmental History

is a collection of digitized reference articles related to American Environmental History.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books!  Some useful headings for your topic may include:

General:

  • Environmental monitoring -- [can add location, e.g. North Carolina]
  • Environmental policy -- United States -- History
  • Environmentalism -- United States -- History

Specific sites:

  • Fort Bragg (N.C.) -- History
  • Fort Fisher (N.C.)
  • Environmental impact analysis -- North Carolina -- Fort Fisher
  • Hurricane damage -- [can add location, e.g. Northeastern states]
  • Hurricane Katrina, 2005
  • Hurricane Sandy, 2012

When you click on a subject heading in a record, you are taken to a hierarchical list of headings, so you will also find related headings.

Primary Sources

- Search the Randall Library catalog (and other libraries) for history makers' names as authors. This should retrieve their memoirs, diaries and correspondence. 

- As you search subject topics in the catalog, note that the following subdivisions indicate primary source (* indicates it can be used with individuals' names,classes of persons [e.g., soldiers], and organizations) :

  • Archives *
  • Caricatures and cartoons
  • Correspondence *
  • Diaries *
  • Early works to 1800
  • Facsimiles
  • Interviews
  • Newspapers [e.g., African Americans -- Newspapers]
  • Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
  • Pamphlets
  • Personal narratives (used in relation to specific events only)
  • Photographs
  • Pictorial works
  • Songs and music
  • Sources
  • Speeches, addresses, etc.*
  • Treaties

​​- More suggestions can be found on the  "Primary Sources guide.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
includes historic scholarly journals, 1907 - 1984.
ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
includes over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, including historical images. > Registered users can download individual images from the ARTstor Digital Library so remember to register for a free user account.
Documenting the American South

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a project at UNC-Chapel HIll that provides online access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

[More details]
is a digital library focusing on the American South. The Oral Histories section is particularly useful.
American Memory Project

Includes images & video from American history, from 1400-present.

[More details]
contains text, photographs, audio and video on U.S. history.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.

[More details]

Primary Sources: Newspapers & Magazines

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
contains full images of the NYT, 1851 to 3 years ago.
includes newspapers from the late 1600's to early 1900's from Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia. Coverage Dates: 1690-1922
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Searching Beyond Randall Library

is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.

[More details]
chat loading...

Stephanie Crowe

Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED