Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Tools for Finding Bibliometric Numbers

Journal Citation Reports

The Journal Citation Reports module within InCites allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from approximately 12,000 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. Journal Citation Reports is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences.

[More details]
For Journal Impact Factor and Impact Factor without Journal Self-Cites, 5 Year Impact Factor, Immediacy Index, Citable Items, Cited Half Life, Citing Half Life, Eigenfactor Score, Article Influence Score, % Articles in Citable Items, Normalized Eigenfactor, Average JIF Percentile. Summarizes citations from science and social science journals and proceedings in the Web of Science™ database, delivering detailed reports of their citation performance, their citation network, and the count and type of materials published. -To use: 1. Check the boxes for Science(SCIE), Social Science(SSCI), and Open Access. 2. Enter the name of the journal in the "Go To Journal Profile" Search Box.
CiteScore

A family of eight indicators that offer complementary views to analyze the publication influence of serial titles of interest. Derived from the Scopus database — almost twice the size of the next-leading abstract and citation data provider —  CiteScore metrics offer a robust indication of a serial’s impact. 

[More details]
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
  • SCImago Journal & Country Rank can tell you what the impact factor is for journals in most disciplines.
  • To use:
    1. Click on the button labeled, "Journal Search." Type some or all of the words in the title of the journal you are analyzing.
    2. Alternatively, you can click on the button labeled, "Journal Rankings," to browse the top journals by discipline.
[More details]
For Journal Ranking Numbers. Publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). -To use: 1. Enter journal title in the Search Box.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities helps professors, graduate students and researchers to publish their manuscripts in academic journals. It offers current contact information and websites for a large number of journals. Also, Cabell’s provides information on publication guidelines, type of review, number of external review, acceptance rate, ISSN, submission process, and more. Coverage available for the subjects of Business and Education.

[More details]
Eigenfactor.org: Ranking and Mapping Scientific Journals
  • Eigenfactor.org can tell you what the impact factor is for journals within the science and social science fields.
  • To use:
    1. Search by "Journal Name" OR Search by "ISI Category" (discipline).
[More details]
For Journal Ranking Numbers. Provides Eigenfactor scores and Article Influence scores. -To use: 1. Click on the link for "Eigenfactor Metrics." 2. Enter the name of the journal in the Search Box.
Google Scholar Metrics

You can browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics.  You can also explore publications in research areas of your interest.  You can also search for specific publications in all languages by words in their titles.

 

[More details]
For journal ranking numbers. You can browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics. You can also explore publications in research areas of your interest. You can also search for specific publications in all languages by words in their titles. -To use: 1. Type in the name of the journal in the search box to find the h5-index and the h5-median of the journal.
Publish or Perish
  • "Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents" a variety of statistics about these citations.
  • To use:
    1. Download the Publish or Perish software, depending upon your system requirements.
    2. Type in an author's name (taking care to list names that you know of to exclude).
    3. Uncheck or check the appropriate boxes to the right of the search boxes, as needed.
[More details]
For author ranking numbers. Free, downloadable program which mines Google Scholar for publications and provides author metrics such as citations per year, citations per paper, h-index, g-index, hI-norm, hI-annual. -To use: 1. Follow instructions to download program based on your operating system. 2. Search by using author's first and last name. 3. Deselect results (if any) of authors with the same name as your query. * Double clicking on an article in Publish or Perish, links to the citing articles in Google Scholar.
UlrichsWeb

Ulrichsweb is an easy to search source of detailed information on more than 300,000 periodicals (also called serials) of all types: academic and scholarly journals, e-journals, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more.

[More details]
For a variety of journal information including whether or not the journal is refereed, scholarly, open-access, etc.

Book Holdings

WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Bibliometrics: What it is, what it isn't

Bibliometrics is a statistical analysis of written publications.  Historically used to rate/rank publications, it was a tool to help libraries make purchasing decisions.  Bibliometrics are now also used as a means to gauge a researcher's scholarly publication output and thus, as one tool in deciding retention, promotion, and tenure (RTP).  Numbers have been created to rate both publications and authors.  Be advised that there are several organizations/individuals that have created the formulas to calculate these numbers and there is no "one place" to get all the numbers available.  Also, if you plan to incorporate bibliometrics into your RTP packet, be aware that some of these numbers (e.g. Journal Impact Factor) cannot be applied evenly across disciplines.

So while bibliometrics are widely used as a means of gauging a person's publication quality, the practice remains controversial.

See the San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment and the European Association of Science Editors statement on inappropriate use of impact factors.

 

Some Definitions

Journal Impact Factor or Impact Factor: Used to gauge a journal.  Calculated by dividing the number of citations in the Journal Citation Reports year by the total number of articles published in the two previous years.

  • These figures come from publications indexed by Web of Science.
  • Journal Citation Reports also provides the following numbers for journals: Impact Factor without Journal Self-Cites, 5 Year Impact Factor, Immediacy Index, Citable Items, Cited Half Life, Citing Half Life, Eigenfactor Score, Article Influence Score, % Articles in Citable Items, Normalized Eigenfactor, Average JIF Percentile.

h-Index: Used to gauge an author.  A researcher has index h if h of his/her Np papers have at least h citations each, and the other (Np-h) papers have no more than h citations each.

  • A h-Index of 10 means an author has published at least 10 papers that have received at least 10 citations each.
  • The intent of the h-Index is to favor researchers that publish a contiuous stream of papers which are considered high-impact. 

g-Index:  Used to gauge an author.  Given a set of articles ranked in decreasing order of the number of citations that they received, the g-Index is the unique largest number such that the top g articles received together at least g2 citations.

  • g-Index allows highly cited papers to bolster low cited papers.

 

Additional Methods of Citation Analysis

In addition to the metrics obtained by the tools in the column to the left, there are some additional methods of citation, or publication analysis:

Circulation

  • The number of distributed copies of a magazine, journal, or newspaper.
  • This number can be an indicator of how popular or influential a particular periodical is and could be a factor to consider when preparing for tenure or annual review.
  • This term also refers to the number of times a book or item circulates in a library -- libraries can often provide this data anonymously, if it is requested.

Library Subscriptions & Holdings

  • The number of libraries that subscribe to a periodical can also be an indicator of how influential it is.
  • Libraries oftentimes implement a rigorous selection and retention process for periodicals -- owing to their increasing costs -- so the fact that a large number of libraries subscribe to a journal that you have published in may be considered significant.
  • The number of libraries that own a particular book is also a figure of note.

Amazon Sales Rankings

  • Amazon tracks sales rankings of books and certain journals and magazines.
  • This data is becoming increasingly important to publishers -- particularly when they are considering resigning an author or making an offer to a previously published author.
  • So these are numbers certainly worth noting in your tenure or annual review document.
  • For an explanation of Amazon Sales Rankings, please see: http://www.rampant-books.com/mgt_amazon_sales_rank.htm or http://www.fonerbooks.com/surfing.htm

Rejection Rate/Acceptance Rate

  • A ratio of articles submitted and not published to total submitted articles in a year (rejection rate) or a ratio of published articles to total submitted articles in a year (acceptance rate).
  • This is usually limited to periodicals that require some sort of peer-review process.
  • The more rigorous or competitive, and thus more respected, journals in a field will have high rejection rates or low acceptance rates.
  • This concept is not applicable to books or book chapters.

Sample Tenure or Annual Review Entry

Bordwell D.
Intensified continuity: Visual style in contemporary American film 
FILM QUARTERLY 55 (3): 16-28 SPR 2002

  • Cited 2 times in Web of Science [accessed August 14, 2007]
  • Cited 9 times in Google Scholar [accessed August 14, 2007]
  • Film Quarterly lists a circulation of 4550 in Ulrich's Periodical Directory [accessed August 14, 2007]
  • 1414 libraries currently subscribe to Film Quarterly, according to WorldCat [accessed August 14, 2007]
  • Film Quarterly had a SJR value of 0.118 in 2002 in Scimago Journal and Country Rank [accessed December 6, 2016]
  • Film Quarterly has a h5-index of 8 and a h5-median of 11 in Google Scholar Metrics [accessed December 6, 2016]
  • Film Quarterly has an Amazon.com Sales Rank number of 2,803 [accessed August 14, 2007]
  • Film Quarterly has an acceptance rate of 15% (or a rejection rate of 85%) according to the MLA Directory of Periodicals [accessed August 14, 2007]

Additional Resources

Google Scholar Citations

  • Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles.
  • You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics.
  • You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name.
  • https://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/citations.html

 

Create a Thomson Reuters ResearcherID for yourself

  • Each member is assigned a unique identifier to enable researchers to manage their publication lists, track their times cited counts and h-index, identify potential collaborators and avoid author misidentification.
  • Your ResearcherID information integrates with the Web of Science and is ORCID compliant, allowing you to claim and showcase your publications from a single one account.
  • Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists and explore how research is used around the world.
  • http://wokinfo.com/researcherid/

Contact Librarian

John
Osinski
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2059

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED