- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Ancient Greece & Rome
Ancient Greece & Rome
Subject:
Get Started
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and RomeReference DE5 .O95 2010
Credo Reference - Ancient History
is a collection of reference books related to ancient history.
[More details]Search the Library Catalog
When searching the library catalog for books, you can start with a general keyword search. Then, look at the records retrieved with your keyword search and examine the Subject Heading section of the records. These will help you find more useful books!
Examples of headings related to ancient Greece & Rome include:
- Gladiators
- Greece -- Antiquities
- Greece -- Civilization -- To 146 B.C.
- Greece -- History -- To 146 B.C.
- Greece -- History -- 146 B.C.-323 A.D.
- Rome -- History -- Empire, 284-476
- Rome -- History -- Germanic Invasions, 3rd-6th centuries
- Rome -- History, Military
- Rome -- HIstory --Republic, 265-30 B.C.
- Sex customs -- Greece -- History
- Sex customs -- Rome -- History
- Sports -- Greece -- History
- Women -- Greece -- History
- Women -- Rome -- History
Recommended Article Databases
These databases also contain other secondary sources, such as theses, conference proceedings, book chapters, and more.
Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.
[More details]covers world history excluding the US and Canada back to 1450. Allows 6 users at a time
Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Contains electronic resources for the study and teaching of Medieval and Renaissance studies.
[More details]indexes journal materials (articles, reviews, etc.) as well as books and conference proceedings.
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]provides full-text access to Full-text searching of an archive of over 334 history journals. Typically excludes the full text for the latest 3-5 years of publication, but may provide a link to the vendor for current issues.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]Provides full-text for 71 history journals. This database defaults to items we have access to, but if you expand the search for the entire database, it will search books as well as journals.
MLA International Bibliography
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
[More details]includes the Literature, languages, linguistics and folklore disciplines.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.
[More details]indexes nearly 1,100 academic journals in the humanities back to 1907.
Primary Sources
The Loeb Classical Library series would be especially useful for finding original accounts and narratives from the time period.
- To see a list of print titles in this series, do a keyword search in the library catalog for "Loeb Classical Library". You can also do an author search to find works by particular ancient authors, such as Suetonius, Tacitus, and Herodotus.
- To access electronic copies of titles in this series, please use the Loeb Classical Library link below.
Loeb Classical Library
More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease. An interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
[More details]
ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
[More details]Provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Registered users can download individual images from the ARTstor Digital Library so remember to register for a free user account.
Perseus Digital Library
features a collections covering "the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world."
[More details]History Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me:
Searching Beyond Randall Library
is a guide to searching beyond Randall Library for hard-to-find items.
[More details]