Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Helpful Websites

Handbook of Latin American Studies

Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the Handbook is a bibliography on Latin American consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.

[More details]
Center for a Public Anthropology

The Center is a non-profit that encourages scholars and their students to address public problems in public ways.

[More details]
Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations

Website primarily addressing the Maya, Mixtec, Zapotec, and Aztec civilizations. Updated in 1997.

[More details]
National Archaeological Database

The National Archaeological Database (NADB) effort was initiatied by the National Park Service Archaeological Assistance Division in the 1980s to improve nationwide access to information on archeological activities.

[More details]
Archaeology Magazine

A publication of the Archaeological Institute of America.

[More details]
ArchNet

The ArchNet website is designed to promote appreciation, understanding, and knowledge abut archaeology and the preservation and interpretation of cultural resources, both prehistoric and historic.

[More details]
PrimateLit: A Bibliographic Database for Primatology

The PrimateLit database provides bibliographic access to the scientific literature on nonhuman primates for the research and educational communities. No longer being updated as of November 30, 2010.

[More details]
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) Research Tools:

The ARDA Learning Center provides religion educators high-quality religion resources that can be used to teach students at various academic levels ranging from junior high school to college and seminary.

[More details]
Center for World Indigenous Studies

Dedicated to a wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic, and political realities of indigenous nations.

[More details]
Native American Sites

Provides access to home pages of Native American Nations and organizations and to other sites that provide solid information about American Indians. Updated in 2008.

[More details]
American Folklife Center

The American Folklife Center was created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present American folklife" through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibitions, publications, and training.

[More details]
Social Sciences in Latin America

Social sciences section of an Internet portal for Latin American Studies content.

[More details]
American Academy of Forensic Sciences

A professional society dedicated to the application of science to the law.

[More details]
American Anthropological Association

Website for the world's largest association for professional anthropologists.

[More details]
American Association of Physical Anthropologists

The AAPA is the world's leading professional organization for physical anthropologists.

[More details]
American Board of Forensic Anthropology

Forensic anthropology is the application of the science of physical or biological anthropology to the legal process.

[More details]
Archaeological Institute of America

The Archaeological Institute of America promotes archaeological inquiry and public understanding of the material record of the human past to foster an appreciation of diverse cultures and our shared humanity.

[More details]
Association for Environmental Archaeology

The AEA promotes the advancement of the study of human interaction with the environment in the past through archaeology and related disciplines.

[More details]
Foundation for the Advancement of Mesoamerican Studies

FAMSI was created in 1993 to foster increased understanding of ancient Mesoamerican cultures.

[More details]
Society for American Archaeology

The Society for American Archaeology (SAA) is an international organization dedicated to the research, interpretation, and protection of the archaeological heritage of the Americas.

[More details]
Society for Historical Archaeology

Historical archaeology is the study of the material remains of past societies that also left behind documentary and oral histories.

[More details]
World Archaeological Congress

The World Archaeological Congress (WAC) is a not-for-profit organization and forum for discussion for anyone who is concerned with the study of the past.

[More details]
ShovelBums

The world's largest provider of archaeology, academic, and cultural resource management (CRM)-related jobs.

[More details]
ArchaeologyFieldwork.com

Listings of archaeology job advertisements.

[More details]
Expeditions & Discoveries

Delivers maps, photographs, and published materials, as well as field notes, letters, and a unique range of manuscript materials on selected expeditions between 1626 and 1953.

[More details]
North Carolina ECHO

Exploring North Carolina's Cultural Heritage Online

[More details]
Ethnologue: Languages of the World

A comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages.

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Recommended Databases

Anthropological Literature

Anthropological Literature is a comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research. Specifically, this includes social and cultural anthropology, Old and New World archaeology, physical anthropology and anthropological aspects of related subjects, emphasizing Mesoamerican, Native American and Andean archaeology and ethnology.

[More details]
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, social work, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

[More details]
ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
eHRAF Archaeology

Provides a cross-cultural database of information on the world's prehistory, organized by archaeological traditions.

[More details]
eHRAF World Cultures

Provides a cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases

Search 24 databases related to the Social Sciences simultaneously.

[More details]
Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
SpringerLink

SpringerLink offers online access to over 1400 fully peer reviewed journals and hundreds of ebooks in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social work, sociology, and economics.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]

Quick Search for Anthropology

Contact Librarian

Melissa
Raymer
Distance Learning Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.