Randall Library Home

NC LIVE's Anti-Racism Reading List

This reading list is a curated selection of eBook titles available in the NC LIVE HomeGrown Collection.

[More details]

Databases

UmbraSearch

Search digitized content on African American history from over 1000 libraries and archives.

[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

[More details]
African American Newspapers Series 1

Chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, African American Newspapers, Series 1, features 280 newspapers from 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. These titles published for or by African Americans constitute valuable primary sources for researchers exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more.

[More details]
African American Newspapers Series 2

African American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, the more than 75 newly available newspapers in Series 2 significantly increase access to primary sources for researchers across African and African American studies; political science; ethnic studies; diaspora studies; women’s studies; and cultural, literary and social history.

[More details]
African-American Poetry

Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

[More details]
African-American Poetry (20th Century)

Contains nearly 9,000 poems from African American poets of the 20th century.

[More details]
Historical Black Newspapers

This collection of historical black newspapers provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Publications include:

  • The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
  • Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
  • Michigan Chronicle (1934-2010)
  • New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
  • Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
  • Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
[More details]
American Civil Liberties (ACLU) Papers

Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court. The American Civil Liberties Union has throughout its history consistently stood at the center of controversies involving the rights of Americans. Its records offer researchers a unique view of the inner workings of the organization and the hundreds of groups with which the ACLU interacted. 

[More details]
USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 54,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide.

[More details]
Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century

Features records of NAACP, SCLC, SNCC, CORE, and federal records on the black freedom struggle. Part of the History Vault database.

[More details]

Disclaimer and Feedback

The collaborators on this guide have attempted to bring together select quality, relevant resources for the anti-racist issues in this guide, but we are not immune from the limits and hidden biases of our own privileges and perspectives.

We welcome and greatly appreciate any feedback and suggestions for the guide, particularly from the perspectives and experiences of the marginalized groups listed and not listed here.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED