- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Arabs & Jews in Palestine: The Hopeful First Generation
This page contains helpful resources related to the history of interaction between Ottoman, Jewish, Arab and other populations in and around Palestine. Other helpful resources may be found in the general subject guides for History and Religion.
Selected Relevant Books to Get Started
Muslims, Christians, and Jews in early twentieth-century PalestineDS125 .C26 2011eb
Rural Arab Demography and Early Jewish Settlement in PalestineHD1516.P18 .G7813 2011
A History of Palestine: from the Ottoman conquest to the founding of the state of Israel DS125 .K7313 2008
In the house of the law: gender and Islamic law in Ottoman Syria and Palestine
Palestine: a four thousand year historyDS117 .M375 2020
The last Ottoman generation and the making of the modern Middle East
The State of Social Progress of Islamic Societies
Peace be upon you : the story of Muslim, Christian, and Jewish coexistence
Jews, Turks, Ottomans : a shared history, fifteenth through the twentieth century
The Arabs of the Ottoman Empire, 1516-1918DR435.A66 M37 2013
A brief history of the late Ottoman empire9780691134529
Ottoman brothers : Muslims, Christians, and Jews in early twentieth-century PalestineDS125 .C26 2011
Arabs and Jews in Ottoman Palestine: Two Worlds CollideDS119.7 .D693 2019
Late Ottoman Palestine: the Period of Young Turk Rule DS125 .L38 2011
Relevant Primary Source and Government Collections
HathiTrust
Collection of digitized titles from libraries and research institutions around the world.
[More details]
The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Recrd
Contains a variety of types of primary sources documenting the modern history of the Middle East, from Yale University's law library.
[More details]
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)
Primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
[More details]
Wilson Center Digital Archive
The Wilson Center Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. It focuses on the Cold War, North Korean history, and nuclear proliferation.
[More details]Relevant Databases
ARTstor Digital Library
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2.5+ million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
[More details]
CORE: Open Access for the Humanities
Part of the Modern Language Association's Humanities Commons, CORE hosts articles, monographs, course materials, white papers, conference papers, code, and digital projects for and by humanities scholars and practitioners.
[More details]
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]
Middle East & Africa Database
[More details]
Provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
Part of ProQuest Central.
Political Science Database
Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. This database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
[More details]
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]
ProQuest Central
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.
[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)
The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.
[More details]
Religion Database
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history.
[More details]
Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume 2: Islam
Focuses on modern Islamic theology and tradition and details Islam’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents by Muslim writers, both non-Western and Western voices. The collection is fully cross-searchable with the volumes on Christianity, Judaism, and Eastern Religions.
[More details]
Twentieth Century Religious Thought, Volume 3: Judaism
Twentieth Century Religious Thought: Volume III, Judaism focuses on modern Jewish theology and philosophy and details Judaism’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents. It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Eugene Borowitz, Elliott Dorff, Emil L. Fackenheim, Blu Greenberg, David Hartman, Mordecai Kaplan, Adolf Neubauer, and Joseph B. Soloveitchik; writings in German and Hebrew from the Markus Brann collection, and a selection of contextual monographs and reference works.
[More details]Contact Librarian - History
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me: