Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Image Databases

ARTstor Digital Library

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million digital images in the arts, art history, architecture, anthropology, history, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, religion, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.

[More details]
New York Public Library Digital Collections

Explore well over a half a million items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. Spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and media, NYPL Digital Collections offers drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, videos, audio, and more. Encompassing the subject strengths of the vast collections of The Library, these materials represent the applied sciences, fine and decorative arts, history, performing arts, and social sciences.

[More details]
Shared Shelf Commons

A great database for art and art history, Shared Shelf Commons is a free, open-access library of images. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, export, and share images. Institutions that subscribe to Shared Shelf, a Web-based service for cataloging and managing digital collections, can share their images with the world via the Commons.

[More details]
Met Collection

All images of public-domain works in The Met collection are available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0). So whether you're an artist or a designer, an educator or a student, a professional or a hobbyist, you now have more than 375,000 images of artworks from our collection to use, share, and remix—without restriction. This policy change to Open Access is an exciting milestone in The Met's digital evolution, and a strong statement about increasing access to the collection and how to best fulfill the Museum's mission in a digital age.

[More details]
World Digital Library

Collaboration project between Library of Congress, UNESCO, United Nations Education, Scientific, and Cultural Organization
 

[More details]

Video Databases

Credo Video Collection

Part of Credo Reference, this online video library features clips about United States presidents, world leaders, food and cooking, art history, National Geographic, Ask the Doctor, science and more.

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
PBS Video Collection

You can now view nearly 250 quality PBS programs covering a wide variety of topics. These videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). A great database for music studies. Unfortunately, it will not be possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Art Abstracts

Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

[More details]
Art Index Retrospective

Art Index Retrospective provides users with access to over half a century of high-quality indexing of art literature covering fine, decorative and commercial art history, dating back to 1913. Includes articles, interviews, film and book reviews, bibliographies, conference reports, editorials and much more.

[More details]
Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.

[More details]
Bibliography of the History of Art

BHA covers the current international literature on the history of art in Europe and the New World. BHA incorporates the complete contents of International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA) and Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie (RAA).

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
International Medieval Bibliography

International Medieval Bibliography is a multidisciplinary bibliographic database covering Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from AD 300-1500. It aims to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) published worldwide in over 35 different languages.

[More details]
Iter: gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Contains electronic resources for the study and teaching of Medieval and Renaissance studies.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is an innovative new gateway that offers users the ability to access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. Including eBooks on art and art history.

[More details]
Fine Arts and Music Collection

Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Elite provides multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed and full-text academic journals supporting scholarly research with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study. It also offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency.

[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Victorian Popular Culture

An essential resource for the study of popular art, art history, and entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Consists of four components: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving pictures, optical entertainments & the advent of cinema. Includes full-text, full-color reproductions of books, ephemera, handbills, pamphlets, photos, posters, programs, scripts, and other types of materials.

[More details]
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Other Databases

eHRAF Archaeology

Provides a cross-cultural database of information on the world's prehistory, organized by archaeological traditions.

[More details]
eHRAF World Cultures

Provides a cross-cultural database of information on all aspects of cultural and social life, organized into cultures and ethnic groups.

[More details]
MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
SIRS Renaissance

SIRS Renaissance - 'Current Perspectives on the Arts & Humanities' is a reference database providing current, dynamic information on Architecture & Design, Culture, Literature, Multimedia, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy & Religion and Visual Arts. Full-text articles are selected from over 700 domestic and international publications. Many articles are accompanied by full-color graphics, including art reproductions, photographs and illustrations.

[More details]

Quick Search for Art and Art History

Melissa Raymer

Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Open Access

Guggenheim Library Collection

The Guggenheim Museum Library contains published resources that reflect and inform museum collections and exhibitions, with particular focus on modern and contemporary art, architecture, and photography. The Guggenheim Library is part of the Guggenheim Museum, an internationally renowned art museum and one of the most significant architectural icons of the 20th century. Founded on a collection of early modern masterpieces, the Guggenheim Museum today is an ever-growing institution devoted to the art of the 20th century and beyond.

[More details]

Websites

The websites listed are suggestions to aid in your research. Randall Library is not responsible for the validity or relevance of content on the websites above, nor does it purposefully mean to mislead the researcher towards a specific topic, philosophy, or concept.

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED