NOT PUBLISHED

Sources for Statistics and Data

CDC Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity - Data and Statistics

Ongoing systematic collection, analysis, and interpretation of outcome-specific data for use in planning, interpretation, and evaluation of public health practice.

[More details]
President's Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition - Facts & Statistics

Facts & statistics on physical activity, nutrition, and obesity.

[More details]
BLS Occupational Employment Statistics - Athletic Trainers

Provides information on employment and pay rates from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics.

[More details]

Choosing Credible Resources for Research

Useful References

Board of Certification Preparation

The Board of Certification is the credentialing agency that provides a certification program for the entry level athletic training profession. The BOC establishes both the standards for the practice of athletic training and the continuing education requirements for BOC Certified Athletic Trainers. 

[More details]
National Athletic Trainers’ Association

The National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession. Explore its Practice & Patient Care and Advoacy resources to learn more about key issues and research of interest to the field.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
SPORTDiscus with Full Text

International citations on exercise, physiology, physical education and health, parks and recreation, recreation therapy, sports and sports medicine.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature, including articles, papers, theses, books, and reports. How to access full text

[More details]

ProQuest Search Widget and Recommended Databases

Additional Databases

Health & Medical Collection

This database offers comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more. The journals cover all major clinical and healthcare disciplines, including medical sciences, immunology, pharmacy and pharmacology, nursing, physical fitness and hygiene, surgery, and others. Provides in-depth coverage from over 1,500 publications with almost 1,300 available in full text and of these, over 900 include MEDLINE indexing. Includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.

[More details]
Visible Body Physiology Animations

A comprehensive collection of nearly 70 high quality videos that illustrate and animate the core physiological processes of the human body.

[More details]
Visible Body Muscle Premium

Allows users to learn about muscles, their attachments, and their actions. Includes 3D versions of 20+ common pathologies, including sciatica, rotator cuff tear, shin splints, and more.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
Physical Therapy (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

[More details]