Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
PAR 215

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Recommended Databases

Use the following databases to find ARTICLES on your topic. You can limit your search to "peer reviewed" for scholarly articles.

PhilPapers with Full Text

Maintained and operated by the Center for Digital Philosophy and the Philosophy Documentation Center. It features full text access to more than 100 scholarly journals, series, and conference proceedings in the humanities and social sciences.  

[More details]
Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy.

[More details]
PhilArchive

The largest open access e-print archive in philosophy. Formerly known as the PhilPapers Archive, it is built on and integrated with the PhilPapers database. Access to items on PhilArchive is free without a user account.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]

Citation Searching

It is often useful to go through the endnotes or references of a paper to find sources the author has cited for information you might be able to use, which is a “backwards citation search."  Many times the citations at the end of a paper will be linked so you can easily find them.  If they are not, you can look up the journal title in the Library Catalog to find out if the library has access to the journal.  Be sure to use the drop-down menu and select "Journal Title" for your search.  Then you will need to look up the article by title in that journal.

A "forward" citation search can also be useful since academia is full of ongoing conversations between scholars.  A “forward citation search” means finding other papers which cite a particular paper.  One way to do a forward citation search is to enter a paper title and author into Google Scholar and look for the "Cited by" link under the brief paper abstract.  You can also use the database Web of Science to find if a paper has been cited.

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED