NOT PUBLISHED

Helpful Websites

Biographical Directory for the United States Congress

Searchable index by name, state, position, party, and years in Congress. Covers 1774-present.

[More details]
Searchable index by name, state, position, party, and years in Congress. Covers 1774-present.
Biography.com

Searchable collection of biographies of famous people and information on historical events, crimes, and scandals.

[More details]
Searchable collection of biographies of famous people and information on historical events, crimes, and scandals.
Black Past

BlackPast is dedicated to providing a global audience with reliable and accurate information on the history of African America and of people of African ancestry around the world.

[More details]
Our First Ladies

From the official White House website, information about historical First Ladies.

[More details]
From the official White House website, information about historical First Ladies.
Presidents of the United States

From the official White House website, biographies of historical presidents.

[More details]
From the official White House website, biographies of historical presidents.
Native American Author Index

Index of Native American Authors with biographical essays.

[More details]
Poets.org

Poets.org currently features biographies of more than 2,000 poets and more than 6,000 poems.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

Subject indexes such as MLA and Historical Abstracts can be used to find citations to biographical information found in newspapers, journals, and books. For biographical information on authors, Gale Literary Sources is a good starting point.

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
Use MLA International Bibliography for citations to the monthly periodical Biography, which is a good source for contemporary biographies.
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
At the main LexisNexis page, choose "People" for short full text bios on politicians, business executives, etc.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes current, easily accessible references sources, as well as important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. The total number of biographical sketches exceeds 17 million citations and points to more than 2000 publications, covering over 5 million people. The database contains names, birth/ death years, and bibliographic references to books containing material on that person and an indication of which books or articles include a portrait.

[More details]
Biography (Gale in Context)

Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

[More details]
Gale Literary Sources

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

[More details]
ProQuest Learning: Literature

Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Using the Library Catalog

Suggested KEYWORD searches:

  • To do the broadest possible search to find items by and about the person, do a KEYWORD search with the word near between the first and last names.
  • "biography and dictionaries and artists" will give you sources with biographical information for the broad group of "artists."
  • "biography and authors and american" - source with information on American authors.
  • "biography and france and 19th century" - biographies about the French in the 19th century.
  • "encyclopedias and [your chosen subject area]" - for example, encyclopedias and art.

Suggested SUBJECT searches:

  • "[Last name] [first name or initial]" of the person you are researching

You can add a name to these searches, if desired:

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill