NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Recommended Databases

Web of Science - Core Collection

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

[More details]
BIOSIS Previews

BIOSIS Previews is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas. It also covers references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, clinical research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet for Quick Tours.

[More details]
Zoological Record

Zoological Record is the world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference, and with coverage back to 1868, has long acted as the world's unofficial register of animal names. It is part of Web of Science.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]
Archive of selected scholarly journals across many disciplines of study. JSTOR is particularly useful for botanical and plant science research.

Helpful Websites

U.S. Geological Survey: Amphibians

Database of bibliographic citations, references, contacts, and web sites related to amphibian conservation. Headed by the Patuxent Wildlife Research Center.

[More details]
BioOne Complete

Searchable database of more than 200 titles related to biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

[More details]
Cold Regions Bibliography (Federal Research Division)

Bibliography aimed at disseminating cold regions science and technology as collected by the Library of Congress, Federal Research Division and the U.S. Army Cold Regions Research and Engineering Laboratory (CRREL).

[More details]
FishBase

Global biodiversity information system on fish species currently known in the world. Provides information related to taxonomy, biology, trophic ecology, life history, and uses, as well as historical data reaching back 250 years.

[More details]
PLANTS Database

Single source of standardized information about plants. This database focuses on vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. The PLANTS Database includes names, checklists, automated tools, identification information, species abstracts, distributional data, crop information, plant symbols, plant growth data, plant materials information, plant links, invasive species references, and other plant information. Also includes States PLANTS list.

[More details]
PubMedCentral

A digital archive of life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).

[More details]
TOXNET

TOXNET (TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.

[More details]
APA Style

The American Psychological Association's citation and style guide for APA papers.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Peter
Fritzler
Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2060

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.