The Budget of the United States Government

NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Databases

ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
HathiTrust

Collection of digitized titles from libraries and research institutions around the world.

[More details]

More Resources

GovInfo.gov Budget of the United States government

Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other related and supporting budget publications are included, which may vary from year to year.

[More details]
Office of Management and Budget

OMB carries out its mission through five critical processes that are essential to the President’s ability to plan and implement his priorities across the Executive Branch.

[More details]
Congress.gov

Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.

[More details]
USA.gov Budget

How Congress creates the annual budget.

[More details]
US Senate Committee on Appropriations

The Senate Appropriations Committee is the largest committee in the U.S. Senate, consisting of 31 members in the 116th Congress. Its role is defined by the U.S. Constitution, which requires "appropriations made by law" prior to the expenditure of any money from the Federal treasury.

[More details]
Congress.gov Appropriations and Budget

Learn about appropriations and the budget process.  This site also provides helpful legislative histories.

[More details]
USAspending.gov

USAspending is the official open data source of federal spending information. We track how federal money is spent in communities across America and beyond. Learn more about government spending through interactive tools that explore elements of the federal budget, such as federal loan, grant, and contract data.

[More details]
Congressional Budget Office

Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.

[More details]
A Citizen's Guide to the US Budget

A practical guide to the budget that answers many questions.

[More details]

Beth Kaylor

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

The Debt, Debt Ceiling, and the Deficit

The Current Fiscal Condition from the GAO

This big-picture look at the nation’s fiscal condition covers the federal government’s financial statements; the federal debt; federal, state, and local fiscal projections; and budget trends.

[More details]
Treasury Direct

TreasuryDirect is brought to you by the U.S. Department of the Treasury Bureau of the Fiscal Service. The mission of  the Fiscal Service is to borrow the money needed to operate the federal government and to account for the resulting debt.

[More details]
GAO: What is the Federal Debt?

From the Government Accountability Office, what is and what is not the federal debt.

[More details]
Your Guide to America's Finances

Data Lab’s mission is to promote transparency of government finances by providing engaging and informative data-driven analyses of federal spending data.

[More details]
US National Debt Clock - Real Time

See the National Debt in real time.

[More details]
Debt Limit from the Department of the Treasury

The debt limit is the total amount of money that the United States government is authorized to borrow to meet its existing legal obligations, including Social Security and Medicare benefits, military salaries, interest on the national debt, tax refunds, and other payments.

[More details]