Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Quick Search for Business

Helpful Websites

NAICS Search Online

Industrial Classification Codes: All companies are classified by the federal government into categories called industry classifications based on the general product of business line of the company. This categorization system assigns every business an SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code and/or a North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code. The industry classification allow you to compare like companies and industries.Directories may contain one or both of these codes.

[More details]
SIC Search Online

Industrial Classification Codes: All companies are classified by the federal government into categories called industry classifications based on the general product of business line of the company. This categorization system assigns every business an SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) code and/or a North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS) code. The industry classification allow you to compare like companies and industries.Directories may contain one or both of these codes.

[More details]
Federal Reserve Board

The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. Over the years, its role in banking and the economy has expanded.

[More details]
Public Register's Annual Report Service

View over 5,000 online annual reports or 10-K presentations for various companies.

[More details]
EDGAR Database

For finding SEC documents.

[More details]
Barron's Annual Reports

Annual Reports for the world's top publicly traded companies.

[More details]
SEDAR

Canada's EDGAR

[More details]
U.S. NYSE

Information on the New York Stock Exchange

[More details]
NASDAQ

Official site of The NASDAQ Stock Market featuring free stock quotes, stock exchange prices, stock market news, and online stock trading tools.

[More details]
FinancialWeb

Focuses on content from the North American and Latin American markets.

[More details]
Big Charts

Provides access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
Bureau of the Census

serves "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

[More details]
Dismal Scientist

Reports leading economic indicators and analysis of U.S. economy.

[More details]
CEO Express

News, business magazines, market quotes, business research and much more.

[More details]
World Bank Data

provides reliable data about countries of the world.  You can search by country, topic, or indicator.

[More details]
IMF Country Data

comtains country information from the International Monetary Fund.

[More details]
Ohio State University's Virtual Finance Library

Guide to sites for information about finance, banking, and investing.

[More details]
Accountants World.com

AccountantsWorld offers a complete, integrated suite of innovative accounting, payroll, and practice management solutions that help accountants work collaboratively with clients to foster greater client loyalty and improve practice bottom lines.

[More details]
AuditNet

AuditNet is a Global Resource for Auditors.

[More details]
U.S. State Department - Background Notes

This site is a permanent electronic archive of information released prior to January 20, 2001. This site is not updated so external links may no longer function.

[More details]
U.S. Dept. of Commerce International Trade Administration

The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.

[More details]
U.S. Small Business Administration

has provided "millions of loans, loan guarantees, contracts, counseling sessions and other forms of assistance to small businesses."

[More details]
Bplans.com

Business plans resource.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
Business Source Elite

This database provides full-text coverage of top business, management and economics journals and periodicals. These valuable publications cover topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more

[More details]
IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products; this source includes industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports, and more.

[More details]
Mergent Online

Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]
Morningstar Investment Research Center

Search this essential business database with over 18,000 stocks and mutual funds to determine where to invest your money. Identify stocks and funds that meet your criteria and read reports prepared by Morningstar. Obtain an analysis of your current portfolio or see how the stocks and funds you select work together to form a balanced portfolio.

[More details]
EconLit

EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. This database contains more than one million records, with citations and abstracts dating back to 1886. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.

[More details]
Entrepreneurship Database

This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.

[More details]
Mergent InvestorEdge

Mergent InvestorEdge provides a powerful business research tool, access to the documents and financial information you need for each individual company – incorporating the latest research technology for comprehensive investment research. Look up all corporate documents including annual, industry and equity reports as well as general contact information for each domestic and international company in our database.

[More details]
Key Business Ratios

Key Business Ratios on the Web (KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

[More details]
ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. The database includes access to information about more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. homeowners and movers. ReferenceUSA's quality information helps researchers, students and job-seekers answer a wide variety of questions, and saves them valuable time and money.

[More details]
Proquest European Business

ProQuest Asian Business and Reference name has been changed to: Asian & European Business Collection

[More details]
Checkpoint

Checkpoint(TM) research system offers you fast, effective ways to find answers to your business, tax and financial research questions.

[More details]
ProQuest Accounting & Tax

ProQuest Accounting & Tax name has been changed to: Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection

[More details]
Statistics of U.S. Business

U.S. Census Bureau. A free online resource for statistical business information.

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
Passport

Euromonitor's Passport database contains data for countries around the world covering consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, country risk and more.  Features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide.

[More details]
PrivCo

Source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

[More details]
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

WRDS is a comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. This hosted data service has become the focus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool.   

[More details]
Business Insights: Global

Business Insights allows researchers to use in-depth information on U.S. businesses, industries, and products. The database includes

[More details]
Business Market Research Collection

Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]

Data and Statistics Sources

Department of Labor

Department of Labor

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED