In this guide, I've included some resources that you might find useful for your campaign analysis. Please feel free to reach out to me if you need help using any of these resources or if you aren't finding what you need!

NOT PUBLISHED
Semester and Year: 
404
Course number: 
PLS
Instructor: 
Gibson, Nadine

Candidate Information and Election Guides

Vote 411

Find information about races and candidates by address.

[More details]
HeadCount

Links to nonpartisan voting guides.

[More details]
Campus Election Engagement Project (CEEP)

Nonpartisan guides to candidates by state, with college students as the intended audience. 

[More details]

National Poll Results

FiveThirtyEight Polling

Latest polling, mostly for national races.

[More details]

Statistical Information

CQ Voting and Elections Collection

A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.

[More details]
Contains a whole lot of data about candidates, campaigns, and districts.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Provides access to statistical information produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, private companies, state government agencies, and universities. Create maps and reports from data. Compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the repository. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, marketing, and more.

[More details]
Most useful for getting information about the district you are researching.
State Data Center

North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.

[More details]
Data and statistics about North Carolina.

Newspaper Articles and Ads

Randall Library subscribes to a number of newspapers that might have published stories about your candidate's campaign, in addition to advertisements that your campaign may have placed in the newspaper.

America's Newspapers

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.

[More details]
The electronic editions for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers.
InfoTrac Newsstand

InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts. Local newspapers from North Carolina are included in this resource.

[More details]
Access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers.
Newspaper Source Plus

Newspaper Source Plus includes more than 860 full-text newspapers, providing more than 35 million full-text articles. In addition, the database features more than 857,000 television and radio news transcripts.

[More details]
Access to over 860 newspapers, in addition to some radio and television transcripts.
North Carolina News Sources

North Carolina News Sources is a collection of more than 190 media sources from across the state,  including the Wilmington Star News, the Charlotte Observer, and the Raleigh News & Observer.

[More details]
US Newsstream

Provides access to recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes titles such as Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Provides access to recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.

Political Science Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED