Home > Guides >

Capital Punishment

Capital Punishment

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Criminology

This guide is meant to be a starting place for your research on capital punishment. Remember when you are searching for sources on capital punishment to use also alternative terms (such as "death penalty") in addition to specific forms of capital punishment (for example "lethal injection").

Starting Points

These two databases provide detailed (non-scholarly) information on controversial topics like capital punishment.

SIRS Issues Researcher

SIRS Issues Researcher delivers the pros and cons on today’s complex social issues. Critical current issues and enduring social issues are covered through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference material from over 1,800 national and international sources. All publications and are hand indexed to subject headings.

 [More details]
Under "Browse all Pro/Con Issues," click on "Crime and Punishment" and then "Death Penalty/Capital Punishment."
CQ Researcher

The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

 [More details]
Under "Hot Topics," click on "Death Penalty."

Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts (Ebsco)

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice, criminology, and sociology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

 [More details]
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)

A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text. Part of ProQuest Central.

 [More details]
Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

 [More details]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

 [More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

 [More details]
Homeland Security Digital Library

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

 [More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Statistics Databases

ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

 [More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

 [More details]

Criminology Librarian

Kiana Webster

Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email: 
websterk@uncw.edu
Phone Number: 
(910) 962-3434
Office: 
RL2055
Meet with Me: 
https://lib.uncw.edu/websterk-book
Bureau of Justice Statistics

Governmental source for criminal justice information and statistics. Data topics include corrections, courts, Native American justice statistics, law enforcement, and victims.

 [More details]
Collects data on persons held under sentence of death and persons executed during the calendar year from the state department of corrections and the Federal Bureau of Prisons.