NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

North Carolina Census Information

North Carolina Quick Facts

QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

[More details]
NC Census Data - OSBM

NC Census information and data from the NC Office of State Budget and Management.

[More details]
State Data Center

North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.

[More details]
State & County QuickFacts - U.S. Census Bureau

Fast, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography

[More details]

Databases

Census Data - census.data.gov

Search for data from the Census.

[More details]
Historical Statistical Abstract of the U.S.

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States. Our access includes editions back to 1878. Need help? Visit Quick Start: Statistical Abstract of the United States

[More details]
Data-Planet

Provides access to statistical information produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, private companies, state government agencies, and universities. Create maps and reports from data. Compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the repository. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, marketing, and more.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]

More Resources

Measuring America: The Decennial Census from 1790-2000

This resource provides background on the Decennial Census including instructions given to enumerators.

[More details]
Census Questionnaires

Primary source documents that allow users to view previous Census questionnaires in their original printing.

[More details]
Explore Census Data

Searchable database of digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Provides information related to the population, economy, and other subjects surveyed by the Census.

[More details]
Census Records - History

The Census Bureau's National Processing Center (NPC) maintains copies of the 1910 to 2010 census records which are made publicly accessible 72 years after each decennial census' "Census Day." The most recent publicly available census records are from the 1940 census, released April 2, 2012.

[More details]
United States Census Bureau

The U.S. Census Bureau has been headquartered in Suitland, Md. since 1942, and currently employs about 4,285 staff members. The Census Bureau is part of the U.S. Department of Commerce. The U.S. Census Bureau is overseen by the Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) within the Department of Commerce. The Economics and Statistics Administration provides high-quality economic analysis and fosters the missions of the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

[More details]
Measuring America: the Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000

Measuring America provides a brief historical look at the decennial censuses, focusing on the questionnaires and instructions given, and the kinds of information gathered by each census. Included are illustrations of the actual census forms used, and a table to help determine the questions asked in each census. This source also provides information about locating historical statistics. While it does not include statistical data, Measuring America provides an overview of the evolution of the U.S. Census over time.

[More details]
National Archives - Search Census Records

Federal Census records have been digitized by several of NARA's partners, and will eventually be available as well through the National Archives Catalog.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Other Government Resources

U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts

Search engine powered by U.S. Census Bureau providing statistics for searchable populations greater than 5,000. Includes states, counties, cities, and towns.

[More details]
1940 Census

Provides access to images, maps, and descriptions collected in the 1940 Census.

[More details]
Census Academy

Resource from the Census Department for learning how to access and interrupt census data.

[More details]