Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Starting Points

American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
The first place to start searching for census data is the American FactFinder website. The American FactFinder is the official interface for distributing the 1990, 2000 and 2010 Census of Population and Housing, the 1997 Economic Census, and the American Community Surveys. The site is updated with new data as it becomes available to the public. FactFinder provides many options for finding, viewing, printing, and downloading various data sets. FactFinder also allows the creation of reference and thematic and maps. User-selected tables of data are downloadable in ASCII (text) or CSV (comma separated value) formats.

Websites

Bureau of the Census

serves "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

[More details]
The U.S. Census Bureau website provides information about the many activities of the Census Bureau and its various publications, and provides links to online tools for finding data. The website includes an A to Z subject guide to the census, links to publications available in PDF format, and linkable population clocks that estimate current national and world populations.
Census 2000 Briefs

The Census 2000 Briefs are various publications, with each individual title highlighting a specific aspect of the American population. Topics include population change, race, age, and gender, new congressional districting, and the United States in an international context. Each brief includes statistical tables and a summary article discussing the data and trends. The website also provides access to Special Reports, on issues of diversity and racial segregation, marriage, and overall population and housing trends (e.g., Mapping Census 2000, below).

[More details]
Mapping Census 2000, the Geography of U.S. Diversity

Mapping Census 2000 is a Special Report providing a collection of color-coded maps detailing aspects of racial diversity in the United States. Each map illustrates the percentages of population per county of a specific race or ethnic heritage.

[More details]
Your Gateway to Census 2000

Your Gateway to Census 2000 provides numerous links to in-depth information about Census 2000, including technical data and documentation. This site provides links to several American FactFinder options, including street address searching, “quick facts,” and “data highlights.” The website also provides lists of special summary publications and reports, a glossary of Census terminology, and contact information for the Census Bureau.

[More details]
2010 Census Briefs

The 2010 Census represented the most massive participation movement ever witnessed in our country. Approximately 74 percent of the households returned their census forms by mail; the remaining households were counted by census workers walking neighborhoods throughout the United States. National and state population totals from the 2010 Census were released on December 21, 2010.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Citation, Writing & Presentation Resources

Citing Census Data

Here is an example of how to cite census data in APA format:

U.S. Census Bureau. 2000. "Census 2000 Summary File 3 (SF3) - Sample Data, Table P19 Age by Language Spoken at Home by Ability to Speak English for the Population 5 Years and Over". Retrieved 25 September 2002 from U.S. Census http://factfinder.census.gov.

In text Citation: (U.S. Census Bureau, 2000)

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.