Randall Library Home

In Randall Library, most of the literature for children and young adults is shelved in the Juvenile Collection (click here to view a map) by these categories:

  • E : Easy (Picture) books: Arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
  • Fic : Juvenile Fiction: Arranged alphabetically by author's last name.
  • J : Non-fiction, including biographies: Arranged by Dewey Decimal Classification.

The 800 class in Dewey is for literature.  The major type of literature you will find in our Dewey collection is poetry.  American poetry has a call number beginning with 811. English poetry is in 821.  Folk tales are in the 300 classification.

Please see below for more assistance on finding resources.

Types of Journals

Types of journals and magazines dealing with children's and young adult literature:

  • Academic journals that focus on scholarly study and have peer-reviewed, research articles.  Please note that many academic journals include non-peer-reviewed articles, editorials, reviews, and interviews. Examine the articles carefully if you are looking for scholarly, peer-reviewed sources. To find such articles, look in the Recommended Databases section for the most appropriate database for your needs.  There are also some Selected Journals listed in the section below.
  • Review journals that review individual books for children and young adults (e.g. Horn Book Magazine - available through Gale Literature Resource Center online).
  • Library Science and Education journals that discuss how to select and/or use books in a library or classroom setting (e.g. School Library Journal, Book Links, Elementary English).
  • Children's magazines, intended for children's reading pleasure (e.g. Cricket, Ladybug, Stone Soup).

Helpful Websites

Center for Children's Books, University of Illinois

Bibliographies, book lists, and reviews as well as other information.

[More details]
Children's Literature Association

ChLA supports two peer-reviewed scholarly journals published by The Johns Hopkins University Press, Children’s Literature and the Children’s Literature Association Quarterly.

[More details]
ChLA supports two peer-reviewed scholarly journals published by The Johns Hopkins University Press, Children’s Literature, and the Children’s Literature Association Quarterly.
Children's Literature Web Guide

Website that lists books for children and young adults.

[More details]
Website that lists books for children and young adults.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature

Tracks winners of 73 awards in six English-speaking countries.

[More details]
Caldecott Medal Homepage (ALSC)

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

[More details]
Newbery Medal Homepage (ALSC)

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

[More details]
Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) Book Awards & Booklists

YALSA's Book Awards and Selected Booklists have been selected for teens from 12 to 18 years of age, but the award-winning titles and the titles on YALSA's selected lists span a broad range of reading and maturity levels.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

To find articles on specific subjects relating to children's and young adult literature, try searching one of the following databases.

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
Indexes over 450 journals in library and information science since 1969. Includes thousands of articles on children's and young adult books and publishing.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Archive of scholarly journals in multiple humanities and social sciences disciplines. Use the Advanced Search and select journals in various disciplines such as "Language and Literature".
ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
The U.S. Department of Education's Educational Resource Information Center database contains citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
A full-text scholarly archive with coverage of children's and young adult literature topics. Select a Research Area such as "Literature".
MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
The MLA International Bibliography consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present.
Gale Literary Sources

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

[More details]
Literary Sources includes literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Tips for Searching the Catalog

Searching for Authors

If you are looking for resources written or edited by a particular person, you will do an author search in the library catalog.  Author searches should be done last name, first name.

If you are looking for books about a particular person, you will do a subject search in the library catalog.  Subject searches for information about people should also be conducted last name, first name.  Resources about authors are often broken down into particular categories using Library of Congress subject headings.

Searching for Topics

There are two ways to search for literary topics in the library catalog, subject and keyword searches.  Subject searches look in the Library of Congress subject headings, which have a consistent way of describing the information in library materials, leading you to very specific sources.  Because of this, occasionally you may miss some very relevant resources by only doing a subject search.

Some Common Subject Headings Relating to Children's and Young Adult Literature

General Headings Specific Genres Topics/Themes in Children's Literature
Children's literature Children's plays Monsters -- Juvenile literature
Children's literature, American [or other country, continent, or ethnic group] Children's stories Magic -- Juvenile literature
Young Adult Fiction Christian literature for children Cats -- Juvenile poetry
Young Adult American History and Criticism

Children's poetry [and specific types of poetry]:

  • Children's prose poems
  • Counting-out rhymes
  • Limericks, Juvenile Lullabies
  • Nursery rhymes
  • Poetry in mathematics education
  • Tongue twisters
 

Keyword searches look for the words you enter in every part of the records in the library catalog.  Keyword searches are very flexible, but may result in "false drops" or resources that have all the words you searched for, but are not actually on the topic you were searching.  There are a few techniques to help you create better keyword searches.

AND  When AND is placed between keywords, it searches for all the words, but the words need not be near each other and the relationship between the words is not necessarily important.  EXAMPLE: Milne and criticism

OR  Using OR allows you to search for similar words in one search.  EXAMPLE: Monsters and (children's or juvenile)

Truncation  Using a wildcard symbol (*) allows you to search for a root word with all of its possible endings.  EXAMPLE: Monster* and (children's or juvenile)

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, Women's and Gender Studies, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
ENG 380/ENG 381