Included below are links to databases and online collections of sources related to just about every possible Cold War-related topic you can imagine. If you need suggestions on where to start, please feel free to get in touch with me (my contact information is at the top right of this page). 

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2020
Course number: 
HST 562
Instructor: 
Fain, W. Taylor
SHAFR Digital Collections

An extremely useful portal to hundreds of digital collections on international history from around the world.

[More details]
Vietnam War Bibliography

An exhaustive bibliography of primary and secondary sources on the Vietnam conflict that is maintained and continuously updated by Dr. Edwin Moise at Clemson University. Should be your first stop if you are pursuing a Vietnam-related topic.

[More details]

Books

Both the library catalog and WorldCat contain records of both primary and secondary source books (electronic and print). 

Library Catalog

Randall Library's online catalog. Search for books, journals, dvds, cds, government documents and many other resources held by Randall Library.

[More details]
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Suggested Article Databases

JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
America: History & Life

Provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]

U.S.-Focused Online and Digitized Primary Sources

This is the official documentary history of the United States’ foreign policy compiled by State Department historians. See volumes from the Truman through Reagan Administrations.
National Security Archive

DNSA offers the most powerful research and teaching tool available in the area of U.S. foreign policy, intelligence and security issues since 1945. Over 55,000 of the most important, declassified primary documents – totaling more than 420,000 pages – are included in the database.

[More details]
Based at George Washington University, maintains extensive documentary collections and “electronic briefing books” of documents and essays on Cold War topics.
Nuclear Vault

The National Security Archive’s site devoted to the history of nuclear weapons.

[More details]
The National Security Archive’s site devoted to the history of nuclear weapons.
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
Makes available tens of thousands of pages of documents on the Cold War organized into many topical collections.
CIA Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room

Provides declassified documents requested via the Freedom of Information Act.

[More details]
Also provides links to CIA Historical Collections and the CIA Records Search Tool (CREST).
CIA Center for the Study of Intelligence

Also provides links to CIA historical publications and studies and the CIA Museum.

[More details]
Also provides links to CIA historical publications and studies and the CIA Museum.
National Security Agency Historical Publications

From the U.S. intelligence agency charged with high tech espionage.

[More details]
From the U.S. intelligence agency charged with high tech espionage.
Office of the Secretary of Defense Historical Office

Very useful documents on Department of Defense history.

[More details]
Very useful documents on Department of Defense history.
Joint History Office

Provides links to digitized historical studies from the Office of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, including the extremely valuable JCS and National Policy series.

[More details]
Provides links to digitized historical studies from the Office of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, including the extremely valuable JCS and National Policy series.
Pentagon Papers

The classified Defense Department history of U.S. involvement in the Vietnam conflict that was leaked to the New York Times by Daniel Ellsberg in 1971, now available in full.

[More details]
The classified Defense Department history of U.S. involvement in the Vietnam conflict that was leaked to the New York Times by Daniel Ellsberg in 1971, now available in full.
U.S. Naval History and Heritage Command

Digitized collections on U.S. Naval history.

[More details]
Digitized collections on U.S. Naval history.
U.S. Joint Committee on Atomic Energy

Contains documents from 1946 to 1977, many of which are Cold War-related. Curated by Stanford University.

[More details]
Contains documents from 1946 to 1977, many of which are Cold War-related. Curated by Stanford University.
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
A complete and extremely valuable collection of Congressional hearings, the Congressional Record, etc. that detail Cold War subjects.
Frontline Diplomacy

Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training at the Library of Congress makes available interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST).  These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st.

[More details]
Contains a vast collection of oral histories from Cold War period U.S. diplomats.
Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training: Oral History Collection

Provides access to 2500 U.S. diplomatic oral histories spanning eight decades.

[More details]
Oral history collection of former participants in foreign affairs.
Hoover Institution Library & Archive

Housed at Stanford University, maintains more than one million volumes and over 6,000 archival collections documenting war, revolution, and peace in the 20th and 21st centuries. Extensive digital collections.

[More details]
Housed at Stanford University, maintains more than one million volumes and over 6,000 archival collections documenting war, revolution, and peace in the 20th and 21st centuries. Extensive digital collections.
National Archives - Cold War Records

A very brief introduction to its Cold War related holdings.

[More details]
A very brief introduction to its Cold War related holdings.
U.S. Presidential Libraries and Museums of the National Archives

Presidential Libraries and Museums are repositories for the papers, records and historical materials of the Presidents. We work to ensure that these irreplaceable items are preserved and made available for the widest possible use by researchers.

[More details]
Administered by the National Archives and Records Administration, these make available many thousands of digitized records.
American Presidency Project

The American Presidency Project (APP) at UC Santa Barbara is a good source of presidential documents on the internet. Their archives contain 123,170 documents and are growing rapidly.

[More details]
Contains an enormous number of primary source documents curated by the University of California Santa Barbara.
Secret White House Tapes, Archive of Tapes

Maintained by the University of Virginia’s Miller Center of Public Affairs, provides access to all the currently declassified presidential tape recordings from FDR to Richard Nixon. The Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon tapes contain a great deal of Cold War-related materials.

[More details]
Maintained by the University of Virginia’s Miller Center of Public Affairs, provides access to all the currently declassified presidential tape recordings from FDR to Richard Nixon. The Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon tapes contain a great deal of Cold War-related materials.
Nixontapes.org

Along with the Miller Center’s website, this is the place to go for Nixon Tapes.

[More details]
Along with the Miller Center’s website, this is the place to go for Nixon Tapes.
Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy: The Cold War

A selection of primary sources collected by Mt. Holyoke College.

[More details]
A selection of primary sources collected by Mt. Holyoke College.
Vietnam Center and Archive (Texas Tech University)

Includes oral histories and source documents.

[More details]
A huge repository of archival sources maintained by Texas Tech University.
Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Washington Post from 1877 - 2001. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]

Non-U.S.-Focused Online and Digitized Primary Sources

Cold War International History Project

Contains several collections related to Asia, including many translated and published Cold War documents. 

[More details]
Based at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars in Washington, D.C., this is the premier online site for Cold War documents and analysis, mostly from Communist Bloc nations.
Wilson Center Digital Archive

The Wilson Center Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world—much of it in translation and including diplomatic cables, high level correspondence, meeting minutes and more. It focuses on the Cold War, North Korean history, and nuclear proliferation.

[More details]
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe.
Cold War International History Project Publications

Includes the very useful Working Paper series, e-Dossier series, the CWIHP Bulletin, and Documentary Readers. These are all extremely valuable sources.

[More details]
Includes the very useful Working Paper series, e-Dossier series, the CWIHP Bulletin, and Documentary Readers. These are all extremely valuable sources.
Cold War Studies at Harvard University

Includes a Document Archive and other resources.

[More details]
Includes a Document Archive and other resources.
NATO Archives Online

The digital archive of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization.

[More details]
Documents on British Policy Overseas

A fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C. It is based on three print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the 19th C: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas. DBPO is produced in collaboration between ProQuest and the FCO.

[More details]
The British equivalent of FRUS, though more limited in scope. Available through Randall Library.
The National Archives: The Cabinet Papers

Archival resource for British government cabinet papers from 1915-1986.

[More details]
A portal to the British government’s Cabinet papers from 1915-1986.
British Diplomatic Oral History Programme

Searchable collection of interview transcripts from the British Diplomatic Oral History Programme, established in 1995, which interviewed influential British diplomats and officials.

[More details]
Conducted by Churchill College, Cambridge, Archives Centre
Margaret Thatcher Archive

Makes available thousands of declassified documents from archives all over the world about the remarkably influential British prime minister in the Cold War’s final years.

[More details]
Makes available thousands of declassified documents from archives all over the world about the remarkably influential British prime minister in the Cold War’s final years.
Imperial War Museum Collections

Included many digitized documents and images concerning 20th century British military history, including the era of decolonization and the Cold War.

[More details]
Included many digitized documents and images concerning 20th century British military history, including the era of decolonization and the Cold War.
Documents on Irish Foreign Policy

The official record of Irish foreign relations from about 1921 to the 1960s.

[More details]
The official record of Irish foreign relations from about 1921 to the 1960s.
Documents on Canadian External Relations

The basic published record of the foreign policy and foreign relations of the Government of Canada; provides a comprehensive, self-contained record of Canada's major foreign policy decisions and their underlying rationale.

[More details]
The basic published record of the foreign policy and foreign relations of the Government of Canada; provides a comprehensive, self-contained record of Canada's major foreign policy decisions and their underlying rationale.
Parallel History Project on Cooperative Security

Not clear how active this site is, but it contains European documents on the Cold War compiled by scholars at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich.

[More details]
Not clear how active this site is, but it contains European documents on the Cold War compiled by scholars at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich.
Documents on Germany, 1944-1985

A comprehensive collection of U.S. documents on the political disposition of Germany from the end of World War II to the late Cold War era, compiled by U.S. State Department historians.

[More details]
A comprehensive collection of U.S. documents on the political disposition of Germany from the end of World War II to the late Cold War era, compiled by U.S. State Department historians.
Documents on the Foreign Policy of the Federal Republic of Germany, 1949-1984

The official record of West Germany’s foreign policy during much of the Cold War.

[More details]
The official record of West Germany’s foreign policy during much of the Cold War.
Germany Divided and Reunited (EuroDocs)

Documents collected by the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University.

[More details]
Documents collected by the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University.
Documents of the Soviet Era

Prepared by the Russian Federal Archival Agency.

[More details]
Prepared by the Russian Federal Archival Agency.
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online

Based on 705 interviews with emigres from the Soviet Union between 1917 and 1945 about life in the Soviet Union (in English).

[More details]
Based on 705 interviews with emigres from the Soviet Union between 1917 and 1945 about life in the Soviet Union (in English).
Soviet History Archive

Includes documents on foreign policy, collected by the Marxist Internet Archive.

[More details]
Includes documents on foreign policy, collected by the Marxist Internet Archive.
Stalin Digital Archive

Maintained by Yale University Press.

[More details]
Maintained by Yale University Press.
Prague Spring Archive

Documents from the University of Texas and the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library concerning the Warsaw Pact invasion of Czechoslovakia in August 1968.

[More details]
Documents from the University of Texas and the Lyndon B. Johnson Presidential Library concerning the Warsaw Pact invasion of Czechoslovakia in August 1968.
Making the History of 1989

Compiled by George Mason University, these primary documents are “drawn from the emergence of resistance movements in the 1980s, the events of 1989, and the immediate aftermath in Eastern Europe.”

[More details]
Compiled by George Mason University, these primary documents are “drawn from the emergence of resistance movements in the 1980s, the events of 1989, and the immediate aftermath in Eastern Europe.”
Diplomatic Documents of Switzerland

From the Swiss Federal Archives.

[More details]
From the Swiss Federal Archives.
Documents on the Foreign Policy of Israel

The Israeli version of FRUS, contains Cold War-related material.

[More details]
The Israeli version of FRUS, contains Cold War-related material.
Japanese Diplomatic Document Digital Collection

Prepared by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan. Contains documents from 1868 to the 1960s.

[More details]
Prepared by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan. Contains documents from 1868 to the 1960s.
United Nations Digital Library

Huge repository of UN documents.

[More details]
Huge repository of UN documents.
United Nations Oral History Collection

The United Nations Oral History Collection includes interviews conducted over several years with Secretariat officials, ambassadors, and other eminent people on the establishment of the United Nations and UN involvement in various situations around the world. 

[More details]
The United Nations Oral History Collection includes interviews conducted over several years with Secretariat officials, ambassadors, and other eminent people on the establishment of the United Nations and UN involvement in various situations around the world.
World Bank Archive

Thousands of pages of historical documents from the World Bank Group.

[More details]
Thousands of pages of historical documents from the World Bank Group.

History Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED