NOT PUBLISHED
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2020
Course number: 
COM 200
Instructor: 
Dr. Rick Olsen

Quantitative Research Project

Demonstrate your mastery of quantitative research design by drafting a research proposal that is either a survey or experiment.  At least one variable in your study must be a communication variable.  You can propose a scholarly study similar to those in our journals or an applied study such as might be done for a specific organization (profit or not-for-profit).

Search Strategies for Selected Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Type in the following in search box #1: "measur* or assessment or questionnaire or survey or scale."
Type in your research topic in box #2 for a combined search.

APA PsycINFO

Select the "tests & measurements" field from the drop-down box

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

Look in the appendices of dissertations to find copies of surveys or questionnaires. Include the words "test," "survey," or "questionnaire" in your search along with the term you are measuring. For example: procrastination and (test or survey or questionnaire). For more precise searching, go to advanced search to search by Abstract. Scroll to the end of the pdf to look in the appendices.

Free Tool

Communication Research Measures

This compilation consists of measures that have been developed by researchers at West Virginia University. They may be used for research or instructional purposes with no individualized permission.

[More details]

Recommended Databases for Measures

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

[More details]
APA PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.  Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.

[More details]
Social Science Database

This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Telecommunications Database

This database covers industry and technology news in the area of telecommunications, including wireless, Internet, and long-distance industries. It includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text. Searches more than 600,000 records, dating back to the early 1990's. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]

Business and Communication Studies Librarian

Ophelia
Chapman
Business & Communication Studies Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2058

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.