Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Semester and Year: 
Fall 2018
Course number: 
COM 334
Instructor: 
Dr. Christine Willingham

COM 334 - Message Design

COM 334: Target Market Assignment – Due date tentatively scheduled for September 19th (Wed.) or 20th (Thurs.)

Using secondary market research, identify the current customer groups for craft beer. Include demographics (age, gender, income, education, etc.). Additionally, include (as you are able to determine through available research) psychographics, geographics and behavioristic profiles. As you use that information, you may also want to consider who the noncustomer groups are. What makes them different and why don’t they consume craft beer? Being able to identify customer and noncustomer groups, and what is important to them, will help you to design audience relevant messaging.

Recommended Websites

Nielsen Case Studies: http://www.nielsen.com/us/en/search.html?q=craft+beer&sp_cs=UTF-8 

Beer Institute: www.beerinstitute.org 

Bart Watson, Chied Economist| Brewers Association: https://twitter.com/BrewersStats

Brewers Association: https://www.brewersassociation.org/

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Demographic Data Resources

Below are resources containing demographic data on the national, state and local level.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]
LINC

Over 1300 data items from state and federal agencies for North Carolina.  Historical data and projections, 1960s to 2030.  State, county, municipality, township, tract, block group, and block coverage.  Statistics in these areas:  Population and Housing, Vital Statistics and Health, Social and Human Services, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections, Environment, Recreation, and Resources, Energy and Utilities, Government, Employment and Income, Business and Industry, Agriculture, Transportation.

[More details]
State Data Center

North Carolina economic and population statistics, county profiles.

[More details]

Polling Data Resources

Below are sources containing opinion and polling data on various topics.

iPOLL

The largest collection of poll data anywhere—1935 to present, all US polling firms, broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. International and US datasets available for immediate download.

[More details]
Polling the Nations

Public opinion polls.

[More details]

Market Research Resources

Below is a list of resources relating to Market Research. You may need to search using varying forms of your industry.

Keyword Examples: Craft beer or beer or alcoholic beverage.

Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]
Passport

Euromonitor's Passport database contains data for countries around the world covering consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, country risk and more.  Features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide.

[More details]
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Provides access to statistical information produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, private companies, state government agencies, and universities. Create maps and reports from data. Compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the repository. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, marketing, and more.

[More details]
IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]
Business Market Research Collection

Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Business Insights: Global

Business Insights allows researchers to use in-depth information on U.S. businesses, industries, and products. The database includes

[More details]

Von Yeager- COM Studies Liaison

Von
Yeager
Student Success Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Education

MLIS - University of Pittsburgh

B.A. Communications - North Carolina A&T State University

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.