COM 500 - Mixed Research Methods

NOT PUBLISHED

Subject:

Communication Studies

Semester and Year:

Fall 2020

Course number:

COM 500

Instructor:

Dr. Yiyi Yang

Books and eBooks

Research design : qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods approaches

Communication research measures : a sourcebook. Volume II

Electronic

The Oxford handbook of multimethod and mixed methods research inquiry

Electronic

Research design : quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, arts-based, and community-based participatory research approaches

Electronic

Videos

Sage Research Methods: Video

Randall Library has temporary access to the following Sage Research Methods: Video collections through June 26, 2020.

SAGE Research Methods Video Collection
SAGE Research Methods Video Practical Research and Academic Skills Collection
SAGE Research Methods Video Data Science, Big Data Analytics, and Digital Methods Collection
SAGE Video Research Methods Market Research

[More details]

Recommended Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]

Business Insights: Global

Business Insights allows researchers to use in-depth information on U.S. businesses, industries, and products. The database includes

[More details]

Business Market Research Collection

Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate offers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. The database includes more than 27,000 videos from Harvard Business Publishing, IGI Global, Kiplinger Washington Editors, the Academy of Management and other top providers, as well as more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

[More details]

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

[More details]

JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

[More details]

Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.

[More details]

Data

Bereau of Economic Analysis

The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy.

[More details]

Census Data

Data.Census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau

[More details]

Data-Planet

Provides access to statistical information produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, private companies, state government agencies, and universities. Create maps and reports from data. Compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the repository. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, marketing, and more.

Find guides on searching Data-Planet at https://data-planet.libguides.com/

[More details]

IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]

Passport

Euromonitor's Passport database contains data for countries around the world covering consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, country risk and more. Features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide.

[More details]

Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.

[More details]

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]