Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Select Websites

Inside Higher Ed

Appears to be setting itself up as a free alternative to the Chronicle of Higher Education, offering news, views, career info and job listings. Includes a searchable archive. From Neat New Stuff I Found This Week http://marylaine.com/neatnew.html Copyright, Marylaine Block, 1999-2005. From the site: Welcome to Inside Higher Ed, the online source for news, opinion and career advice and services for all of higher education.

[More details]
American Association of Community Colleges

The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) is the primary advocacy organization for the nation’s community colleges. The association represents nearly 1,200 2-year, associate degree-granting institutions and more than 12 million students.

[More details]
North Carolina Community College System

The mission of the North Carolina Community College System is to open the door to high-quality, accessible educational opportunities that minimize barriers to post-secondary education, maximize student success, develop a globally and multi-culturally competent workforce, and improve the lives and well-being of individuals by providing:

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Select Databases

ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method.  Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.

[More details]
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Select Streaming Video

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.

[More details]
Education in Video

Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection will contains more than 4,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. Includes access to Volume 1 and Volume 2 of the series.

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
Sage Video

Randall Library has temporary access to the following Sage video collections through June 26, 2020. 

[More details]