Competitive Strategy

NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
MGT 455
Instructor: 
Vestal

This guide is designed to get you started with your research for this class. While it is an extensive list of resources, it is not an exhaustive list of sources. If you need more help, please contact your librarian. Click on the headings below to view suggested resources.

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Government Resources

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

is from the U.S. Census Bureau and "is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."

[More details]
Department of Commerce

Federal department which promotes job creation and economic growth by ensuring fair trade, providing the data necessary to support commerce and constitutional democracy, and fostering innovation by setting standards and conducting foundational research and development.

[More details]
Economic Indicators

Resource provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

[More details]
GovInfo

Resource provides public access to official publications from the three branches of the U.S. Federal Government.

[More details]

Starting Points

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products; this source includes industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports, and more.

[More details]

Databases

EconLit

EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. This database contains more than one million records, with citations and abstracts dating back to 1886. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.

[More details]
Key Business Ratio Archive

The D&B Industry Norms and key Business Ratios are made possible through over one million financial statements in the D&B Financial Information Base. This file consists of U.S. corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the U.S. Standard industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers. The data is collected weekly, maintained daily, and constantly edited and updated.

[More details]
Key Business Ratios

(KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

[More details]
Mergent Online

Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.

[More details]
ProQuest Snapshots

Merged with OxResearch and name changed to Business Market Research Collection

[More details]
Data-Axle Reference Solutions

Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]

Statistics and Data

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Resource for labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity statistics in the United States. Agency historically has used data collection to inform public and private economic practices and policies.

[More details]
Data.gov

Federal website providing data sets generated by the Executive Branch.

[More details]
Data-Planet

Provides access to statistical information produced by the U.S. government, major international and intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, private companies, state government agencies, and universities. Create maps and reports from data. Compare and manipulate tens of millions of statistical data series available in the repository. Subjects include health, crime, population, finance, industry, marketing, and more.

Find guides on searching Data-Planet at https://data-planet.libguides.com/ 

[More details]
DealStats

DealStats is a robust online database that boasts the most complete financial details available on 29,300+ acquired private companies, with up to 149 data points that include six valuation multiples and 13 financial ratios. Each transaction includes detailed data to apply the market approach, derive a selling price, benchmark performance, or perform a fairness opinion analysis and BVR analysts rigorously review every transaction to ensure the most trustworthy data.

[More details]
ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]

Contact Your Librarian

Ophelia
Chapman
Business and Communication Studies Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2060

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.