Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

More Resources

Congressional Record

Service provided by GPO Access with the official record of the United States Congress.

[More details]
Register of Debates

The Register of Debates is a record of the congressional debates of the 18th Congress, 2nd Session through the 25th Congress, 1st Session (1824-37). It is the second of the four series of publications containing the debates of Congress. It was preceded by the Annals of Congress and succeeded by the Congressional Globe.

[More details]
Congressional Globe

The Globe, as it is usually called, contains the congressional debates of the 23rd through 42nd Congresses (1833-73). There are forty-six volumes in the series based on the table found in the Third Edition of Checklist of United States Public Documents 1789-1909, Volume 1B (pp. 1466-69).

[More details]
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation

Provides full-text for Congressional debates, 1774-1875.

[More details]
United States Statutes at Large

The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

[More details]
United States Code

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.

[More details]
Annals of Congress

The Annals of Congress, formally known as The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States, cover the 1st Congress through the first session of the 18th Congress, from 1789 to 1824. The Annals were not published contemporaneously, but were compiled between 1834 and 1856, using the best records available, primarily newspaper accounts. Speeches are paraphrased rather than presented verbatim, but the record of debate is nonetheless fuller than that available from the House and Senate Journals.

[More details]

More Government Websites

GovInfo.gov

GveInfo offers a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. 

[More details]
USA.gov

As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

[More details]

Databases

ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
GPO Monthly Catalog

Consists of records published by the GPO since July 1976. Includes references for documents to congressional committee reports and hearings, debates, documents from executive departments, and more.

[More details]

Congress

Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
United States House of Representatives

This is the official home page of the United States House of Representatives. 

[More details]
United States Senate

This is the official home page of the United States Senate.

[More details]

Legislative Branch Agencies

Architect of the Capitol

Serving Congress and the Supreme Court, the Architect of the Capitol (AOC) is the builder and steward of the landmark buildings and grounds of Capitol Hill. The AOC staff preserves and maintains the historic buildings, monuments, art and inspirational gardens on the Capitol campus. Recognizing the trust placed in us by Congress and the American people, the AOC team is committed to providing a safe environment and inspiring experiences for all who work and visit the symbol of American democracy.

[More details]
Congressional Budget Office

CBO produces independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation.

[More details]
Congressional Research Service

The Congressional Research Service serves the Congress throughout the legislative process by providing comprehensive and reliable legislative research and analysis that are timely, objective, authoritative, and confidential, thereby contributing to an informed national legislature.

[More details]
Copyright Office

The Copyright Office administers the national copyright system and provides advice on copyright law to congress, federal agencies, the courts and the public.

[More details]
Goverment Accountability Office

The Government Accountability Office gathers information to help Congress determine how effectively executive branch agencies are doing their jobs.

[More details]
Government Publishing Office

The Government Publishing Office publishes and distributes official government publications to Congress, federal agencies, federal depository libraries, and the public. Anyone may use the services of a federal depository library to access government publications.

[More details]
House Office of Inspector General

The Office of Inspector General conducts audits of the financial and administrative operations of the House of Representatives.

[More details]
House Office of the Clerk

The Office of the Clerk performs administrative functions for the U.S. House of Representatives, including creating and retaining the House Journal, calling new members to order, tracking questions of order, and managing the offices and staff of deceased or retired representatives.

[More details]
Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies

Made up of members of the House and Senate, the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies is responsible for planning and carrying out the President's swearing-in ceremony at the U.S. Capitol.

[More details]
Library of Congress

"is the nation’s first established cultural institution and the largest library in the world."

[More details]
Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission

The Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission reviews federal and state medicaid and CHIP policies and makes recommendations to Congress, the department of health and human services, and the states.

[More details]
Office of Compliance

The Office of Compliance advances workplace rights, safety, health, and accessibility in the Legislative Branch.

[More details]
Open World Leadership Center

The Open World Leadership Center administers the Open World program, a foreign exchange program that brings future leaders from former Soviet states to the U.S. to meet with members of congress.

[More details]
Stennis Center for Public Service

The Stennis Center provides leadership training to young people interested in careers in public service. It also offers training and development opportunities to congresspeople and their staffs.

[More details]
U.S. Botanic Garden

The Botanic Garden is a living plant museum that educates visitors about the importance of plants to the well-being of humans, and to Earth’s fragile ecosystems.

[More details]
U.S. Capitol Police

U.S. Capitol Police Officers work to protect life and property, investigate criminal acts, and enforce traffic regulations on U.S. Capitol Grounds. Officers are also responsible for protecting members, officers of Congress, and their families.

[More details]
U.S. Capitol Visitor Center

Take a tour of the historic Capitol, where you can see the Crypt of the Capitol, the Rotunda, and National Statuary Hall.

[More details]
U.S. House of Representatives

The U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate make up the two chambers of Congress. The House has 435 members, the number representing each state is determined by population.

[More details]
U.S. Senate

The U.S. Senate and the U.S. House of Representatives make up the two chambers of Congress. The Senate has 100 members, 2 from each state, who are elected to serve for a term of 6 years.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED