Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Selected Journals & Literary Magazines

Chautauqua Literary Journal

Publishes writing expressing the values of Chautauqua Institution, broadly construed: a sense of inquiry into questions of personal, social, political, spiritual, and aesthetic importance and when, where, and how those values and questions intersect.

[More details]
Ecotone

Ecotone's mission is to publish and promote the best place-based work being written today. Founded at UNCW in 2005.

[More details]
Creative Nonfiction

A venue for high quality nonfiction prose.

[More details]

Publishing Laboratory

UNCW: Publishing Laboratory

Integral to the Department of Creative Writing, The Publishing Laboratory incorporates into the apprenticeship of creative writers an applied learning experience in the process by which literary manuscripts, including their own, are designed, shaped, and edited into books and published to a wide audience of readers.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

Oxford Journals

Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business.

Note: UNCW only has access to selected content, mostly journals, in Wiley. Look for the unlocked or free icons  lock iconsto identify content available to UNCW.

[More details]
MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Cambridge Core

Cambridge Core is the Cambridge University Press’s online collection of journals and books across the computer sciences, sciences, social sciences and humanities.  

[More details]
Gale Literary Sources

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]
African-American Poetry

Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

[More details]
African-American Poetry (20th Century)

Contains nearly 9,000 poems from African American poets of the 20th century.

[More details]
American Poetry

Over 40,000 poems by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.

[More details]
American Poetry (20th Century)

50,000 poems by American poets from the early 20th century to the present.

[More details]
English Poetry

Over 160,000 English poems.

[More details]
English Poetry (20th Century)

600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets.

[More details]
Faber Poetry Library

Poets of the twentieth century.

[More details]
Play Index

Play Index enables users to search some 44,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. The database covers a wide range of plays written or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, radio and television plays, and classic drama.

[More details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.

[More details]
American Fiction, 1774-1920

American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. 

[More details]

Quick Search for Creative Writing

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED