Below are some potential places to look as you do your research for this class. In the lefthand column are some journals that you can browse to find articles. They might be a good place to start your research if you are trying to narrow down a topic. Below that are citation guides to APA and ASA format. In the center are some article databases for research in sociology and criminology. If you are struggling to decide if an article you've chosen is a scholarly source, feel free to view the tutorial at the bottom of the middle column.

Finally, if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out to me - my contact information is at the top right. Best of luck with your research this semester!

NOT PUBLISHED
Semester and Year: 
Spring 2021
Course number: 
SOC 360
Instructor: 
Smith, S. M.

Citation Guides

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue OWL guide for 7th edition APA formatting and citations. Includes example papers and citations.

[More details]
ASA Style Guide

Quick guide to citing in ASA format.

[More details]

Article Databases

These are some databases you could consider using as you search for articles on your topic. They include both criminology and sociology research. 

Criminal Justice Abstracts (Ebsco)

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice, criminology, and sociology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

[More details]
A standard criminology database.
Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
A standard sociology database.
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
A good place to go for social science research articles in general.

How Do I Know if it's Scholarly?

Sociology Librarian

Portrait of Stephanie Crowe
Stephanie
Crowe
Coordinator of Liaison Librarian Services
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2056

Twitter: @shcrowe

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.