Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Helpful Websites - Citations

APA Formatting and Style Guide

Purdue OWL guide to citing in APA format

[More details]
Quick Tips for ASA Style

Style sheet with information from the American Sociological Association style guide.

[More details]

Helpful Websites - International Information

Crime and Society: A Comparative Criminology Tour of the World

Comparative criminology website created by a professor at San Diego State University.

[More details]
Nations of the World - Law Library of Congress

Nation-specific legal information from the Law Library of Congress.

[More details]
UNdata

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) has launched an internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.

[More details]

Helpful Websites - Associations

American Society of Criminology

The American Society of Criminology is an international organization whose members pursue scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the measurement, etiology, consequences, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency.

[More details]
United States Sentencing Commission

The United States Sentencing Commission is an independent agency in the judicial branch of government whose purposes are related to sentencing policies and practices, crime policy, and research on federal crime and sentencing issues.

[More details]
World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network

The mission of the World Criminal Justice Library Network is to develop specific ways of sharing services and criminal justice information on a global scale.

[More details]
Law Library of Congress - Guide to Law Online

The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.

[More details]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

Established in 1972, NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

[More details]
American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
North Carolina Department of Justice - View Crime Statistics

Collecting crime statistics for North Carolina and reporting them to the Federal Bureau of Investigation.

[More details]
FBI - Uniform Crime Reports

Starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation.

[More details]

Helpful Websites - Corrections/Prisons

National Institute of Corrections

An agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons that provides training, technical assistance, information services, and policy/program development assistance to federal, state, and local corrections agencies.

[More details]
Federal Bureau of Prisons

Federal agency that is responsible for the custody and care of federal inmates and ensuring the security of federal prisons.

[More details]
North Carolina Department of Public Safety

The mission of the Department of Public Safety is to improve the quality of life for North Carolinians by reducing crime and enhancing public safety.

[More details]

Helpful Websites - Judicial/Courts

North Carolina Court System

Website for the North Carolina Court System

[More details]

Recommended Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice, criminology, and sociology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.

[More details]
Sociological Abstracts

Citations to sociology journals and dissertations covering sociological topics in fields such as anthropology, criminology, economics, education, medicine, community development, communication studies, philosophy, demography, gerontology, political science, religion, and social psychology.

[More details]
ProQuest Criminal Justice

A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields. The database includes abstract and indexing for 250 titles, with more than 100 available in full-text. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
ProQuest Sociology

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, religion, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]
Congress.gov

An essential database for criminology, and public and international affairs, Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, such as bills, committee reports & hearings.

[More details]
PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
WorldCat.org

Free version of WorldCat. The world's largest network of library content and services, WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Complete an Interlibrary Loan form (or use our easy "Worldcat - Get it from UCNW" bookmarklet) to request books.

[More details]

Other Databases

ProQuest Social Science Journals

This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases

Search 24 databases related to the Social Sciences simultaneously.

[More details]
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, social work, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.

[More details]
Mental Measurements Yearbook

Provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, sociology, education, business, and leadership.

[More details]
SpringerLink

SpringerLink offers online access to over 1400 fully peer reviewed journals and hundreds of ebooks in biomedicine, life science, clinical medicine, physics, engineering, mathematics, computer science, humanities, social work, sociology, and economics.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). The database contains more than 164,000 articles from over 100 journals.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
PsycBOOKS

PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of over 55,000 chapters in PDF from over 3,500 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. It also includes nearly 2,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from the APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.

[More details]

Quick Search for Criminology

Statistics Databases

ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]
Data Citation Index

Discover research data, including data studies, data sets from a wide range of international data repositories and connect them with the scientific literature to track data citation. Part of Web of Science.

[More details]
Data.gov

The official U.S. government website that provides increased public access to federal government datasets.

[More details]
Polling the Nations

Public opinion polls.

[More details]
Simply Map

Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.

[More details]
Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Melissa
Raymer
Distance Learning Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED