Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
FNA 101

Finding Sound Recordings

Click here to link to the page Find Music & Audiobooks

Searching for CDs

Music CDs are searchable in the Library Catalog. For best results, use the Advanced Search and limit your searches to a material type "CD SOUND."

Need more advanced music searching tips? See Music Resources in the Library Catalog.

How to find Music CDs in the Library

CD's are located on the second floor of Randall Library. View map.
Unlike a music store, library CDs are arranged on the shelves by Library of Congress Subject Headings.

Streaming Audio Recordings in the Catalog

Some streaming audio recordings are searchable in the Library Catalog. For best results, click on UNCW Library Catalog.  Then use the Advanced Search and limit your searches to a material type"Electronic Resource."

 

Find Videos & DVDs

Click here to link to the page Find Videos & DVDs

Searching for videos

Videos (VHS, DVDs and Streaming Media) are searchable in the Library Catalog. For best results, use the Advanced Search and limit your searches to a material type "VIDEORECORDING" and location "UNCW Audiovisuals."

Locations

There are 6 locations for videos both within VHS and DVDs. VHS tapes are located on the second floor, whereas DVDs are located on the first floor.   View map.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Cultures of the World Through Music and Dance

FNA 101 - Starting Points

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. Use the search box on this page for faster searching
Credo Reference - Performing Arts

Reference ebooks on the performing arts.

[More details]
Credo Reference is an online full-text library that covers all major subjects such as art, business geography, history, literature, music, psychology, social Sciences, and technology.
Music Index

Featuring digitized content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for more than 480 periodicals. It also provides selective coverage for more than 200 periodicals.

[More details]
A music-specific online database; coverage starts from 1978 onwards. Both full text and citations.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967 to Present only)

RILM is a comprehensive music bibliography featuring citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. Types of publications and media covered by RILM include: collections of essays, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, journal articles, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.

[More details]
A music-specific database; coverage starts at 1967. Citations only.

Oxford Music Online




Oxford Music Online 

Databases

Using online databases

In order to find scholarly journal or popular magazine articles, you need to search the online databases.  Most often, the full text of the articles you find will be available in the databases. If not, however, do a “Journal Title” search in the Library Catalog on the name of the journal, magazine, or newspaper that the article you want comes from. The catalog will tell you if the library owns the issue you need.

Suggested Search Strategies for the Databases

aborigin* and animism
powwow and tradition* and danc*
powwow and tradition* and ("native american" or "american indian")
"latin america*" and danc*
shinto* and music
bali* and music
indonesia* and danc* and wom?n

ProQuest

Provides access to databases in the sciences, social sciences, philosophy and education.

[More details]
ProQuest Central and ProQuest Newsstand are both contained in ProQuest and good databases to search in.
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Good music and dance coverage; predominantly full text.
Art Abstracts

Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.

[More details]
Art Abstracts provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Full-text access to the New York Times from 1851. A great resource for finding reviews of past dance companies and performances in NYC.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Good music and dance coverage; full text.
Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890-1982

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.This resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.

[More details]
Indexes popular periodicals from 1890 to 1982. Citations only.
Full-text access to major newspapers and non-English language news.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online

PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.

[More details]
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
Provides content in areas related to communication and mass media.
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.

[More details]
Offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences—including anthropology, archaeology, art, art history, family studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, law, music, performing arts, theatre and much more.
MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

Streaming and Audio and Video Databases

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
Classical Music Library includes recordings from the world's greatest labels. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library.
Naxos Music Library Jazz

Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.

[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online.
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]
The Music and Dance Video Collection found in the Films On Demand database, contains over 660 titles and included popular music, music history and world music. http://search.alexanderstreet.com.liblink.uncw.edu/dance/browse/title

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.