- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Current Research and Practices in Teaching Spanish
Subject:
Semester and Year:
Fall 2018
Course number:
SPN 550
Instructor:
Dr. L. J. Randolph, Jr.
Selected Journals
These are some good journals to get started. See the CARLA list in the "Useful Websites" section for more.
Foreign Language Annals
Hispania
Modern Language JournalSelected Books and eBooks
Communicative Language Teaching in Action: Putting Principles to Work
Multiliteracies Pedagogy and Language Learning: Teaching Spanish to Heritage SpeakersClick on the title to access this eBook
Methodological Developments in Teaching Spanish as a Second and Foreign Language
Introducción y Aplicaciones Contextualizadas a la Lingüística Hispánica
The Routledge Handbook of Spanish as a Heritage LanguagePC4074.75 .R68 2018
The L2 Acquisition of Spanish Subjects Click on the title to access this eBook
The Handbook of Spanish Second Language AcquisitionPC4021 .H36 2014
The Art of Teaching Spanish: Second Language Acquisition from Research to Praxis Click on the title to access this eBook
Teaching Language in ContextPB35 .H24 2001
Search the Library Catalog
Recommended Databases for SPN 550
JSTOR
Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.
[More details]
MLA International Bibliography
Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
[More details]
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.
[More details]
ERIC (via ProQuest)
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
[More details]
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile)
Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. <i>Gale OneFile: Informe Académico</i> provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
[More details]
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean covers Latin American culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day and provides access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, journals, newspapers, and statistical data. It also includes an archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
[More details]
Sage Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.
[More details]Supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
International Newspapers
Access World News
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily.
[More details]
International Newsstream
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
[More details]
Global Breaking Newswires
In the modern news world, newswires are the chief source of timely news and, with increasing pressures on the traditional news industry, newswires are often the only news coverage for many large regions of the globe.
[More details]
Times (London) Digital Archive
The Times Digital Archive, 1785–2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art, art history, architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
[More details]Useful Websites
Literature Reviews (UNC Chapel Hill Writing Center)
Digital handout on writing literature reviews from the UNC Writing Center.
[More details]
Guidelines for Writing a Literature Review (University of Minnesota)
Step-by-step guide.
[More details]
Learn How to Write a Review of Literature (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Guidelines and suggestions on creating a literature review from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.
[More details]
Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition (CARLA)
Research center at the University of Minnesota that studies multilingualism and multiculturalism to develop knowledge of second language acquisition, and to advance the quality of second language teaching, learning, and assessment.
[More details]Eva Sclippa
Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL1041
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff.
ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill