Data Management

UNCW institutional repository

Seahawk DOCKS

Seahawk DOCKS is UNCW's portion of a shared database called North Carolina Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship (NC DOCKS). Designed by UNC Greensboro and shared with UNCG, East Carolina University, Appalachian State University, and UNC Pembroke, NC DOCKS is designed to hold digital, online copies of faculty articles, white papers, and other scholarly works, in addition to student theses and dissertations. This type of database is often referred to as an "Institutional Repository," or IR.

[More details]

Finding Data Sets

Contact the liaison librarian for your subject area for assistance finding data. The following websites provide some good starting points.

ICPSR (Inter University Consortium for Political and Social Research)

ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, including a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminology, criminal justice, social work, sociology, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

[More details]
As a member institution, UNCW faculty, staff, and students have access to this source of over 500,000 social sciences data sets. ICPSR offers 16 specialized collections covering education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and more.
Data.gov

Federal website providing data sets generated by the Executive Branch.

[More details]
This portal provides access to over 190,000 government data sets on topics such as agriculture, business, climate, consumer research, ecosystems, education, energy, finance, health, local government, manufacturing, public safety, as well as science and research.
UNC Dataverse

Share, publish, and archive your data. Find and cite data across all research fields. Hosted by the Odum Institute for Research in Social Science.

[More details]
Dryad

Dryad is a repository for data associated with published articles in the sciences and health disciplines.

[More details]
Figshare

Figshare offers data and other research outputs in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities

[More details]
Science.gov

Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.

[More details]
This massive gateway for government scientific information provides access to data among other sources.
Registry of Research Data Repositories

The registry lists data repositories organized topically, by data type, and by country of origin.

[More details]

Data Management Plans

Data management plans (DMP) document how research data will be collected, organized, stored and maintained. DMPs require some thought and preparation in advance, but increase the long-term utility of the data. The following outline offers guidance on some of the basic questions that a DMP should answer. 

  • Description: What data will be collected? What are the size and format of the data? How will the data be documented to make the data more discoverable and comprehensible to you and your research partners in the future? What metadata standards will be followed? If another researcher generated the data, document the source.
  • Storage: Where will the data be stored? How will the files be organized and named? What are the back-up procedures?
  • Preservation: How long should the data be retained? What tools and software are required to read the data?
  • Policies for Access, Data Sharing, and Re-use: Will others have access to the data, and if so, by whom? Will the entire data set be available or a subset? When will it be accessible? If sharing the data raises privacy or ethical concerns, what is the remediation plan? Will re-use, redistribution, or the creation of derivative works be allowed?
  • Dissemination: Will you use UNCW's institutional repository, Seahawk DOCKS, to make the data accessible or a discipline-specific repository?
  • Roles and Responsibilities: Who will be responsible for managing the data? Who holds the intellectual rights to the data?

The websites below provide useful templates, checklists, examples, and other resources for developing a data management plan:

Guidelines for Effective Data Management Plans

From the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 

[More details]
Data Management Plan Checklist

From thw Digital Curation Centre

[More details]

Funding Agency Guidelines

Many funding agencies require that grant proposals include a data management plan. The following links provide guidance on agencies' specific requirements:

Department of Education Implementation Guide to Public Access to Research Data

Department of Education Implementation Guide to Public Access to Research Data

[More details]
Department of Energy Digital Research Data Management: Suggested Elements for a Data Management Plan

Department of Energy Digital Research Data Management: Suggested Elements for a Data Management Plan

[More details]
National Endowment for the Humanities Data Management Plans for the Office of Digital Humanities

National Endowment for the Humanities Data Management Plans for the Office of Digital Humanities

[More details]
National Institute of Food and Agriculture Data Management Plan for NIFA-Funded Research Projects

National Institute of Food and Agriculture Data Management Plan for NIFA-Funded Research Projects

[More details]
National Institutes of Health (NIH) Data Sharing Policy and Implementation Guidance

National Institutes of Health (NIH) Data Sharing Policy and Implementation Guidance

[More details]
National Science Foundation (NSF) Data Management Plan Requirements and FAQ

National Science Foundation (NSF) Data Management Plan Requirements and FAQ 

[More details]
U.S. Geological Survey Data Management Plans

U.S. Geological Survey Data Management Plans

[More details]

Metadata: Documenting Data

It is good practice to document basic information about your data so that you or your research partners can more easily interpret and re-use the data in the future. 

Some research fields offer metadata standards for data documentation. Adhering to one of these standards increases the findability and utility of your data in the broader research community. 

Documentation and metadata (University of Minnesota Libraries)

Good advice on the basics of data documentation.

[More details]
Digital Curation Centre

Lists of discipline-specific metadata standards for biology, earth sciences, physical science, social science, humanities, as well as standards that are generally applicable to research data.

[More details]

Scholarly Research Services

Scholarly Research Services logo

For more information, visit our Scholarly Research Services webpage.

 

Contact Librarian

Lynnee Argabright headshot
Lynnee
Argabright
Research Data Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1029

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.