Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Library Databases

Homeland Security Digital Library

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

[More details]
Digital National Security Archive - (DNSA)

This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.

[More details]
Foreign Relations of the United States

from the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

[More details]
HeinOnline

Contains more than 1,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Retrieve articles by citation, browse, or search across nearly 50 million pages of content. HeinOnline also contains many useful resources for criminology, and public and international affairs, such as the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S.

[More details]
ProQuest Congressional

Comprehensive online collection of primary source congressional publications and legislative research materials covering all topics, including government, current events, politics, economics, business, science and technology, international relations, social issues, finance, insurance, and medicine. Finding aid for congressional hearings, committee prints, committee reports and documents from 1970-present, and the daily Congressional Record from 1985-present. Compiled legislative histories from 1969-present.

[More details]

Places to Start

NARA- Declassified Documents

Most archival records held by National Archives and Records Administratin are available to the public for research and are either unclassified or declassified. This is an excellent place to start your search for declassified government documents.

[More details]
National Declassification Center

This site from the National Archives and Records Administration provides information about released documents.
 

[More details]

More Resources

National Security Archive at George Washington University

Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S.

[More details]
FBI Records -- The Vault

Provides online access to selected FBI files. Particularly useful for researching groups or individuals who may have come under FBI scrutiny.

[More details]
Documents Available from the Department of Justice

Many documents are available to the public without having to make a FOIA request. These documents are called "proactive disclosures" because they are automatically posted online by all Department components. Please find links below to all Department of Justice components to access their documents that are available online.

[More details]
Declassified Documents - Library of Congress

Suggested resources for locating declassified documents.

[More details]

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Resources

The Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552

The full text of the Act from the Department of Justice.

[More details]
FOIA.gov

This site can help you determine if filing a FOIA request is the best option for you and help you create your request when you’re ready.

[More details]
Freedom of Information Act - Department of State

Like all federal agencies, the Department creates and receives records when carrying out its mission. This website provides a wealth of information about the Department’s FOIA program and how to obtain access to the Department’s records, as well as a search tool containing 216,901 searchable documents reviewed and released to the public.

[More details]

Beth Kaylor

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Government Information
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED