Digital Project Planning and Management

NOT PUBLISHED

Subject:

General Reference

Scholarly Research Services

Using the Library

Project Planning checklist

Taking the time up front to plan out a project will always pay off. Here is a checklist to help you get started.

Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) - Before work starts, create an MOU with your team
Workplan - Create a basic workplan so that you and others have a basic idea of what the project entails
Documentation - Document the project before, during, and after the project is completed.
Timelines - Establish a timeline to anticipate completed milestones
Roles and workforce- Establish who fills what roles. How often and with what methods will you communicate?

Memorandum of Understanding

An MOU covers details of a project like scope, background information, project members and responsibilities, workplan, ownership, technology limitations, and dates of coverage of the MOU.

University of Texas at Arlington MOU toolkit.

Funding Sources

Your project may be a candidate for grant funding. Look for grant funding sources here.

Digital Project Planning and Management

Planning a digital project? We can provide expertise! Contact us for a consult at any stage in your process to assess specifications on digitization, equipment, tools, platforms, funding sources, copyright, metadata, timelines, and preservation and storage.

Digital Projects at Randall Library

University of North Carolina Wilmington Digital Collections are the product of collaborative projects within the library, the university, and the wider community. They include digitized artifacts, art, diaries, letters, newspapers, photographs, oral histories, and reports. These collections focus on the history of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as the history of Southeast North Carolina and the Lower Cape Fear Region. Some UNCW Digital Collections are also discoverable in large aggregate sites like DigitalNC, DPLA, and Internet Archive.

Digital Initiatives continues to seek partnerships with the wider community to create digital projects to enhance teaching and research. Projects could entail analog or born digital material from the library specialized collections, general collection, or from other sources. If you have a project proposal idea, please contact us!

Campus partners:

The History Hub, Dr. Jennifer Le Zotte, UNCW History Department

Community partners:

Cameron Art Museum, The Columbus County News Reporter, and Southport Historical Society

Metadata and Rights

Metadata helps users discover your work. Metadata can be descriptive, structural, or administrative. It can be automated or manually created. Learn more about metadata.

Rights statements make it easy to see if and how online cultural heritage works can be reused. Find out more about rights statements at rightsstatements.org.