- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Double Bass Resource Page
Subject:
Journals
Bass player(Bound and electronic journal)
American string teacher (Bound journal)
Official publication of the American String Teachers Association
Symphony(Bound and electronic journal)
Symphony, the quarterly magazine of the League of American Orchestras, reports on the critical issues, trends, personalities, and developments of the orchestra world.
Books & Library Materials
A new history of the double bass / Paul BrunML920 .B785 2000
A thorough study of double bass history.
A double bassist's guide to refining performance practices / Murray Grodner(eBook)
A compendium of performance philosophy, bowing and phrasing recommendations, tutorials on fingerings and scales, and exercises for bowing and string crossing.
Ray Brown's bass methodMT322 .B76 1999x
Bass Instruction Legendary jazz bassist Ray Brown reveals his lessons and teaching philosophy in this in-depth book.
The jazz bass book : technique and tradition / John GoldsbyMT322 .G65 2002
More than a player's manual, this book portrays jazz bass as a vital element of 20th century American music.
Beethoven, Schubert and more : complete bass parts to 90 orchestral masterworks on CD-ROM / works by Beethoven - v. 1MT320 .O72 v.1 (CD ROM)
This is one of three volumes of printable orchestral excerpts for clarinet.
The contemporary contrabass / Bertram TuretzkyMT320 .T87 1989
Videos, DVDs & Music
Concertos [sound recording] / Meyer, BottesiniDouble concerto for cello and double bass / E. Meyer -- Concerto no. 2 in B minor for double bass and orchestra / G. Bottesini -- Concerto in D for double bass and orchestra / E. Meyer -- Gran duo concertante / G. Bottesini
Where to look in the library
Below are general call number ranges for Shelf Browsing:
| M55-M58 | Double bass solos |
| M237-M238 | Double bass with piano accompaniment |
| M286-M287 | Duets-- two string instruments |
| M290-M291 | Duets-- wind and string instruments |
| M1018 | Concertos with orchestra |
| M1018 | Concertos with orchestra (arranged) |
| M1118 | Concertos with string orchestra |
| M1118 | Concertos with string orchestra (arranged) |
| ML920 | History |
| MT320-MT334 | Studies and methods |
| MT331 | Orchestral excerpts |
Welcome to the Double Bass Page
For more information, please see the Department of Music home page.
Databases
Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
[More details]
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
[More details]
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz [NMLJ] is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. It offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 7,000 albums. Over 32,000 jazz artists are represented. The recordings in Naxos Music Library Jazz come from over 200 labels, and include the catalogue of Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy and others.
[More details]
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.
[More details]Websites
International Society of Basists
Membership organization for those who teach, study, play, repair, build, and enjoy the double bass.
[More details]
Double Bass Reference Guide
Contains suggested call numbers and subject headings for searching resources for double bass repertoire. Also, a list of print resources (not in our library) and online links for double bass related sources.
[More details]
American String Teachers Association
Membership organization for string and orchestra teachers and musicians. Provides resources on employment, education, and conferences and festivals.
[More details]Eva Sclippa
Eva Sclippa
Eva
Sclippa
Humanities Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL1041
Meet with Me:
Need Help?
Interlibrary Loan
If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff.
ILL page: lib.uncw.edu/ill
Writing Help
Writing Services
The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).
[More details]
Read&Write
Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."
[More details]