Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
THR 165

Videos & Training

Optional:  One Perfect Source? (2 min)
Required: THR 165 Research Intro (6 min) 
Optional: Peer-review (3 min) & Advanced Searching (5 min)

Optional reading: Research Cheat Sheet (.pdf)


1) Find a Script

Get a Copy of Your Script

A) Start with "Drama Online," a large database of play scripts available electronically:

Drama Online

A digital library of the most studied, performed, and critically acclaimed plays from the last 2,500 years. Visit Drama Online to explore play texts and read "context & criticism."

Please note that our access privileges do not include all of the play texts; if access to a particular play is not available, please request a copy via interlibrary loan.   Our privileges also do not include the audio plays or filmed productions.

[More details]
2) Find Books

Find Books About Your Play

A) Search the library catalog to find books about your play:


Search tips:

  • Use quotation marks around multi-word phrases, like the play's title. Sample search: 
    • Sample search: “The Birthday Party” pinter
  • Need to find more books?
    • Search for books on the author (example: Harold Pinter); a book about the author will usually discuss their famous plays. 
    • Browse the library shelves near other books that you have found.

B) Need to find even more books?

Finding Books on the Shelf

Ready to find library books on the shelf? Our books are arranged in Library of Congress call number order. Below are some helpful links and just ask a librarian for help if needed. 

3) Find Articles

B) Didn't find what you were looking for with the quick search (above)? Try these other databases:

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
- Must limit your results to “peer-reviewed”
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
- Must limit your results to “peer-reviewed”
Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Elite provides multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed and full-text academic journals supporting scholarly research with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study. It also offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency.

[More details]
- Must limit your results to “peer-reviewed”
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
- Must limit your results to “articles” - There is no way to limit to “peer-reviewed,” but most results are scholarly - This databases searches full-text (instead of just title & abstract), so there are more results to look through.
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
- Limit results to “articles” - There is no way to limit to “peer-reviewed,” but most results are scholarly - This databases searches full-text (instead of just title & abstract), so there are more results to look through.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts, creative writing, English, humanities, foreign languages and literatures, music, philosophy, religion, and theatre. Including many art and art history articles.

[More details]
- Must limit your results to “articles” - There is no way to limit to “peer-reviewed,” but most results are scholarly
More Recommended Theatre Databases

Didn't find what you were looking for using the databases listed above? Try the additional article databases listed on the general "Theatre Research Guide."

[More details]

Performance Reviews

If allowed by your instructor as a source, the Times (London) and New York Times newspapers (below) are excellent sources for professional reviews of theatre productions.  For other sources of reviews, see the "Performance Reviews" research guide.

NYTimes.com

NYTimes.com contains most of the articles that appear in the printed New York Times paper, as well as a wealth of blogs, interactive features, videos and other web-only content.

[More details]
Use for more recent articles from the New York Times
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the New York Times dating back to 1851. An excellent database for history, including full-text and full-image articles. For most dates, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. For access to recent issues, go to the New York Times online or search US Newsstream.

[More details]
Use for older articles from the New York Times
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive

The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. An important resource for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries.

[More details]
Database includes results from the London Times, 1902-2013

--- Get Help ---

Contact Librarian

Tammy
Ivins
Online & Distance Education Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2053

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Writing Help

MLA Quick Guide

MLA Style Center Help

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED


Short url for this page: lib.uncw.edu/thr165