Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Readers' Advisory

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Select Databases

ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
MasterFile Premier

A database of full-text magazines, journals, and reference books, as well as photo, map, and flag files dating back to 1917. Titles include popular magazines like Consumer Reports, Car and Driver, Country Living, Elle, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Harper’s Bazaar, and Popular Mechanics alongside an expansive list of scholarly and trade publications.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]

Select Websites

NC Association for the Gifted & Talented

MISSION: To support the educational and social-emotional needs of academically and/or intellectually gifted students.

VISION: Gifted and talented students are recognized, highly valued, and passionately supported in North Carolina.

[More details]
North Carolina Chapter of the Council for Exceptional Children

The Council for Exceptional Children is a professional association of educators dedicated to advancing the success of children with exceptionalities. We accomplish our mission through advocacy, standards, and professional development.

[More details]
Council for Exceptional Children - Association for the Gifted

TAG is a vibrant organization of diverse individuals who make a difference in the lives of students with gifts and talents on a daily basis. If these characteristics describe you, please join us! We are always looking for members who want to actively participate in our work to provide the voice and vision for gifted education.

[More details]
National Association for Gifted Children

NAGC's mission is to support those who enhance the growth and development of gifted and talented children through education, advocacy, community building, and research. We aim to help parents and families, K-12 education professionals including support service personnel, and members of the research and higher education community who work to help gifted and talented children as they strive to achieve their personal best and contribute to their communities.

[More details]
Supporting the Emotional Needs of the Gifted

SENG is a nonprofit organization that empowers families and communities to guide gifted and talented individuals to reach their goals: intellectually, physically, emotionally, socially, and spiritually.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.