NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Streaming Video

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.

[More details]
Education in Video

Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection will contains more than 4,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. Includes access to Volume 1 and Volume 2 of the series.

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]

Select Databases

ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate offers a comprehensive collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Virtually every discipline is represented, ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.Academic Search Ultimate also includes more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press. This collection of videos is updated monthly and includes footage from 1930 to the present.

[More details]
ACM Digital Library

Full text of every article ever published by ACM and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computer science, information technology, mathematics and statistics.

[More details]
Education Database

Includes access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]

Select Websites

Math Forum

The Math Forum is a leading online resource for improving math learning, teaching, and communication since 1992. They offer a wealth of problems and puzzles; online mentoring; research; team problem solving; collaborations; and professional development. Students have fun and learn a lot. Educators share ideas and acquire new skills.

[More details]
Middle School Math Lesson Plans

This site offers good places to begin looking for individual middle school math lesson plans or materials on which to base them.

[More details]
MIT Blossoms

Blossoms provides video lessons for high school science and math. Every lesson includes video segments, a teacher’s guide, downloadable hand-outs and a list of additional online resources relevant to the topic.

[More details]
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is a public voice of mathematics education, providing vision, leadership and professional development to support teachers in ensuring equitable mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students.

[More details]
PhET

PhET provides free interactive math and science simulations that engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

[More details]
Siyavula Math and Science Textbooks

Siyavula provides Mathematics and Science textbooks from grades 4-12.

[More details]
#GoOpenNC

#GoOpenNC is a library of open education resources and network of NC educators.

[More details]

CMC

UNCW Curriculum Material Center (CMC)

The Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) is located in the Watson College of Education (EB 127) which is adjacent to its close partner, the Betty Holden Stike Educational Lab (Ed Lab). The CMC collection holds PreK-12 instructional resources including NC textbooks, audiovisual kits, manipulatives, posters, art prints, CD's, DVD's, musical instruments, models, and more. Additionally, the CMC hosts a makerspace including stations for 3D doodling/printing/scanning/modeling, bookbinding, paper-crafting, stamping, painting, prototyping, and sewing for users.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Portrait of Melissa Raymer
Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Readers' Advisory

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED