Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Select Databases

ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Elite provides multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed and full-text academic journals supporting scholarly research with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study. It also offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency.

[More details]
Education Database

Includes access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
Science Database

This database features research journals in the applied and general sciences. Covers more than 1600 titles, with more than 1270 available in full text (including charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements). Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Gale in Context: Science

Gale in Context: Science merges authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. The collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments and projects.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]

Select Websites

Connected Science Learning

Connected Science Learning is a journal that highlights STEM education experiences that bridge the gap between in-school and out-of-school settings. The online journal features articles about highly effective programs and shares research that connects preK–12 STEM learning in schools and out-of-school settings, specifically highlighting effective mechanisms for collaboration and co-creation. Connected Science Learning is a valuable resource for the broad range of STEM education leaders who want to develop new or enhance existing “connected” STEM education programs.

[More details]
Biology4Kids

Biology4Kids is a site that contains basic biology information. They have information on cell structure, cell function, scientific studies, plants, vertebrates, invertebrates, and other life science topics.

[More details]
Challenger Center for Space Science Education

With the founding of Challenger Center, the families of the Challenger 51-L crew assembled a network of concerned educators, corporations, and organizations to explore new and exciting ways for students to learn science and mathematics. Our primary audience encompasses students and teachers in grades 5-9. A comprehensive array of programs was created specifically for students in late-elementary and early-middle school grades because this is the age range when many young people begin to lose interest in learning.

[More details]
Chem4Kids

Chem4Kids is a site that contains basic chemistry information. They have information on matter, atoms, elements, the periodic table, reactions, and biochemistry.

[More details]
GLOBE Program

GLOBE (Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment) is a worldwide hands-on, primary and secondary school-based science and education program. GLOBE's vision promotes and supports students, teachers and scientists to collaborate on inquiry-based investigations of the environment and the Earth system working in close partnership with NASA and NSF Earth System Science Projects (ESSPs) in study and research about the dynamics of Earth's environment.

[More details]
Kapili

Kapili is a website that contains many smaller sites on a variety of science topics, such as animal systems, biochemistry, ecology basics, the periodic table, thermodynamics, and much more.

[More details]
MIT Blossoms

Blossoms provides video lessons for high school science and math. Every lesson includes video segments, a teacher’s guide, downloadable hand-outs and a list of additional online resources relevant to the topic.

[More details]
NASA Education

NASA provides hundreds of resources organized by subject, grade level, type and keyword. The lesson plans and teaching materials primarily support STEM curriculum.

[More details]
National Geographic Education

The National Geographic Education site provides resources for educators and students. The site offers news updates, audio/visual content, lesson plans, and much more.

[More details]
National Science Teachers Association

Headquartered in Arlington, Virginia, the National Science Teachers Association is a member-driven organization, 60,000-strong. We publish books and journals for science teachers from kindergarten through college. Each year we hold four conferences on science education: three regional events in the fall and a national gathering in the spring. We provide ways for science teachers to connect with one another. We inform Congress and the public on vital questions affecting science literacy and a well-educated workforce.

[More details]
North Carolina Science Teachers Association

Promoting excellence in science teaching and learning.

[More details]
NSDL

The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).

*Most resources in the library adhere to principles of Open Educational Resource (OER) access, although some resources are restricted to provider site membership, or may have a cost associated with them (indicated in the full record of the resource).

[More details]
PhET

PhET provides free interactive math and science simulations that engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

[More details]
Physics4Kids

Physics4Kids is a site that contains basic physics information. They have information on motion, heat and thermodynamics, electricity & magnetism, light, and modern physics topics.

[More details]
Reeko's Mad Scientist Lab

Reeko's Mad Scientist Lab was created to foster a love for science in kids. Reeko hopes parents will find this page interesting (the reading level is slightly above elementary in some cases). Hopefully they'll sit down with their kids and attempt some of these experiments. Reeko believes they will have read the science facts so they understand the underlying principles behind these experiments. Then when the little one begins peppering them with questions, they'll explain the how and why of these experiments to their kids.

[More details]
Siyavula Math and Science Textbooks

Siyavula provides Mathematics and Science textbooks from grades 4-12.

[More details]
Star*s Family of Astronomy and Related Resources

The Star*s Family resources offer outstanding features such as a twenty-year tradition/experience in compilations, a resulting excellent exhaustivity of entries (including thousands of entries without WWW link), an homegeneous coverage of all practical data, a permanent updating and quality checking scheme (including authentication of data originators), the largest amount of URLs available in a set of astronomy resources, a unique astronomy-oriented dictionary of acronyms and abbreviations, and so on.

[More details]
Utah's Open Textbook Projects

Science textbooks with online interactive activities.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Readers' Advisory

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]

Streaming Video

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.

[More details]
Education in Video

Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection will contains more than 4,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. Includes access to Volume 1 and Volume 2 of the series.

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.