Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Select NC Web Resources

ANCHOR: A North Carolina History Online Resource

Designed for grades 8 and up, the digital textbook offers primary sources, multimedia, readings, and lesson plans covering all of North Carolina history, from the arrival of the first people some 12,000 years ago to 2010.

[More details]
NCpedia

NCpedia is an online encyclopedia about North Carolina.  As of November 1, 2014, NCpedia included 6,819 entries and 7,077 images

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED

Select Databases

ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Elite provides multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed and full-text academic journals supporting scholarly research with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study. It also offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency.

[More details]
America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Education Database

Includes access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including art history, world history, military history, women's history, history of education, foreign languages and literatures, and more.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]

Select Websites

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids

Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids

[More details]
Country Reports

CountryReports.org was established in 1997 out of a love for international relations and culture. Entirely web-based, we offer more than 26,000 pages of content covering a wide-range of topics. Our statistical data and cultural information has proven to be valuable to students, parents, teachers, and researchers alike. In a sea of competing websites, CountryReports.org stands out as a leader, according to accolades received from prominent media and national organizations.

[More details]
iCivics

iCivics is a web-based education project designed to teach students civics and inspire them to be active participants in U.S. democracy.

[More details]
Early America

Explore the World of Early America through the media of the day: newspapers, maps, magazines and writings.

[More details]
Geography4Kids

Geography4Kids is a site that contains basic geographic information. This site has an introduction to the earth sciences that includes topics on the Earth's structure, atmosphere, hydrosphere, and biosphere (for a start).

[More details]
Hyper History Online

HyperHistory is an expanding scientific project presenting 3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of synchronoptic lifelines, timelines, and maps.

[More details]
Library of Congress Teacher Resources

Provides lesson plans, themed resources, primary source sets, presentations and activities, and collection connections.

[More details]
National Archives and Records Administration

News from the National Archives as well as links to guides and finding aids for its collections.  A selection of historical documents and online exhibits is also available.

[More details]
National Council for the Social Studies

National Council for the Social Studies is an association of over 25,000 educators who have come together to strengthen the social studies profession and social studies programs in the schools. NCSS Members take advantage of award winning publications, recognition programs, conferences, information services, and special offers. Whether you're looking for lesson plans, textbooks, or new insights, you'll find it in NCSS.

[More details]
National Geographic Education

The National Geographic Education site provides resources for educators and students. The site offers news updates, audio/visual content, lesson plans, and much more.

[More details]
Social Studies Lesson Plans

Dr. Marty Levine, Professor Emeritus of Secondary Education, California State University, Northridge (CSUN), has gathered lesson plans and resources from the Internet which social studies teachers will find useful. Topics include: Lesson Plans and Teaching Strategies, Online Activities, Educational Standards and Curriculum Frameworks, and much more.

[More details]

Readers' Advisory

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Streaming Video

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.

[More details]
Education in Video

Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection will contains more than 4,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. Includes access to Volume 1 and Volume 2 of the series.

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]