Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Select Databases

ERIC (via ProQuest)

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to augment American education by increasing and facilitating the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

[More details]
ERIC (via U.S. Department of Education)

Citations to articles and reports in education.

[More details]
Academic Search Elite

Academic Search Elite provides multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed and full-text academic journals supporting scholarly research with comprehensive coverage in key areas of academic study. It also offers access to video content from the Associated Press, the world’s leading news agency.

[More details]
Education Database

Includes access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
PsycINFO

This database is the American Psychological Association (APA)'s renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.

[More details]
PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet.

[More details]
Sage Journals Online

Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.

[More details]
WorldCat [FirstSearch Interface]

Books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

[More details]

Select Websites

CHADD

CHADD stands for Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder. CHADD is a membership organization, produces the bi-monthly Attention! magazine (for members), and sponsors an annual conference. The National Resource Center on AD/HD (NRC) is the CDC-funded national clearinghouse for evidence-based information about AD/HD.

[More details]
Council for Exceptional Children

The Council for Exceptional Children provides professional development resources, the latest news within the policy and advocacy fields, and special education publications. They also have a teaching and learning center.

[More details]
Guiding Eyes for the Blind

Guiding Eyes for the Blind is an internationally accredited, nonprofit guide dog school with a 50-plus year legacy of providing the blind and visually impaired with superior Guiding Eyes dogs, training, and lifetime support services.

[More details]
LD Online

LD OnLine offers accurate and up-to-date information about learning disabilities and related issues, such as Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD).

[More details]
NCIP

The NCIP stands for the National Center to Improve Practice in Special Education through Technology, Media and Materials. This site contains video profiles, online workshops and events, as well as a library of resources about technology and special education.

[More details]

Melissa Raymer

Melissa
Raymer
Education and Art Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2054

Readers' Advisory

Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]

Streaming Video

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.

[More details]
Education in Video

Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection will contains more than 4,000 video titles totaling 1,300 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. Includes access to Volume 1 and Volume 2 of the series.

[More details]
Films on Demand

This collection provides over 23,000 high quality streaming videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. The videos include BBC documentaries, Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries plus interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

[More details]

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.