Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Helpful Websites

Literature Collection

Collection of free literature online.

[More details]
Literature Network

Searchable online literature

[More details]
Searchable online literature.
Luminarium Anthology of English Literature

Anthology of English literature updated in 2007.

[More details]
Nobel Prize in Literature

Official website for the Nobel Prize in Literature.

[More details]

Writing Help

Citation and Bibliography Help

Vetted & reliable tools collected by Randall Library.

[More details]
Writing Services

The Writing Center in the University Learning Center is located on the first floor of DePaolo Hall (DE 1003).

[More details]
Read&Write Gold

Free to UNCW faculty, staff, and students, Read&Write Gold is "a flexible literacy software solution that can help readers and writers...access support tools needed to reach their potential, build confidence and independence and succeed."

[More details]

Welcome to the English Guide

Recommended Databases

Looking for liiterary criticism, research, and articles on a topic related to English?  Try searching in the recommended databases listed below.

MLA International Bibliography

Subjects within the MLA International Bibliography consist of literature, language and linguistics, creative writing, English, folklore, film, foreign languages and literatures, literary theory & criticism, theatre, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Oxford Journals

Collections cover Life Sciences, Mathematics & Physical Sciences, Medicine, Social Sciences, Humanities, Social Work, Sociology, English, Creative Writing, Criminology, and Law, and include some of the most authoritative journals in their fields.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
Wiley Online Library

A multidisciplinary collection of academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, social work, sociology, English, computer sciences, creative writing, engineering, psychology, law and criminology, life sciences, and business.

Note: UNCW only has access to selected content, mostly journals, in Wiley. Look for the unlocked or free icons  lock iconsto identify content available to UNCW.

[More details]
Gale Literary Sources

Presents industry-leading literature content, including criticism, biographies, reference articles, reviews, primary sources, plot analysis, explication, and multimedia. Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Searches across Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online.

[More details]
Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database

CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database) is the premier single-source, single-search provider of online information to help educators and librarians find just the right books to meet their educational and collection management requirements. CLCD provides over 2.1 million Children's and Young Adult Literature records containing more than 500,000 professional reviews of children's books, multimedia and audio books (aggregated from 42 sources).

[More details]
ProQuest Learning: Literature

Full-text works of poetry, prose and drama, and secondary sources such as author biographies, literary criticisms, essays, reviews and interviews. Designed with schools and public libraries in mind.

[More details]
History Study Center

A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day. Contents include reference books, essays, journal articles, historical newspaper and magazine articles, maps, rare books, government documents, transcripts of historical speeches, images and video clips. 

[More details]
NoveList Plus

A readers’ advisory resource that uses appeal factors and expert reviews to offer read-alike and listen-alike recommendations for fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks.

[More details]

Recommended Databases for Full Text and Video

See below for databases that contain full text poems, novels, and videos.

African-American Poetry

Contains nearly 3,000 poems from African-American poets in the late 18th and 19th centuries.

[More details]
African-American Poetry (20th Century)

Contains nearly 9,000 poems from African American poets of the 20th century.

[More details]
American Fiction, 1774-1920

American Fiction, 1774-1920 encompasses more than 17,500 works of prose fiction written by Americans from the political beginnings of the United States through World War I. 

[More details]
American Poetry

Over 40,000 poems by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.

[More details]
American Poetry (20th Century)

50,000 poems by American poets from the early 20th century to the present.

[More details]
Ambrose Digital Video

Includes The BBC Shakespeare Plays. Videos can be embedded into Blackboard. All videos are 100% closed captioned, and closed captioned searchable, and allow for unlimited simultaneous use.

[More details]
Drama Online

A digital library of the most studied, performed, and critically acclaimed plays from the last 2,500 years. Visit Drama Online to explore play texts and read "context & criticism."

Please note that our access privileges do not include all of the play texts; if access to a particular play is not available, please request a copy via interlibrary loan.   Our privileges also do not include the audio plays or filmed productions.

[More details]
English Poetry

Over 160,000 English poems.

[More details]
English Poetry (20th Century)

600 volumes of poetry by 283 poets.

[More details]
Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Access includes Thomason Tracts and Early English Books Tract Supplement.

[More details]
Eighteenth Century Collections Online

Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Works published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.

[More details]
Faber Poetry Library

Poets of the twentieth century.

[More details]
LitFinder

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

[More details]

Quick Search for English

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED