Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 
Course number: 
EBD 380
Instructor: 
Vestal

Useful Website

Port City Biz Info

 is designed to be a gateway and a guide to the wealth of resources and services available to anyone searching for business data, statistics and information. 

[More details]

Statistics

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
This site provides links to principle U.S. federal statistical agencies as well as the statistical agencies of most foreign countries. (A word of caution: detailed data on some country web sites is available only in the language native to that country).
Bureau of Economic Analysis

"promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."

[More details]
USA.gov for Business Owners

provides "government information and help with starting and growing a business."

[More details]

Government Resources

Department of Commerce

works with businesses, universities, communities, and the Nation’s workers to promote job creation, economic growth, sustainable development, and improved standards of living for Americans.   Includes the International Trade Administration and Export.gov. Includes a section for North Carolina.

[More details]
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)

is from the U.S. Census Bureau and "is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy."

[More details]
Economic Indicators

from the United States Census Bureau.

[More details]
U.S. Small Business Administration

has provided "millions of loans, loan guarantees, contracts, counseling sessions and other forms of assistance to small businesses."

[More details]
Bureau of the Census

serves "as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

[More details]
American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]
from the United States Census Bureau. Provides "popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community."
American Community Survey (ACS) - U.S. Census Bureau

The ACS is an ongoing survey that provides data every year, giving communities the current information they need to plan investments and services.  Information from the ACS generates data that help determine how more than $400 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.  Includes information about: age, sex, race, family and relationships, income and benefits, health insurance, education, veteran status, disabilities, workplace and how one gets there, where one lives and how much one pays for essentials.

[More details]
from the the United States Census Bureau and "helps local officials, community leaders and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities."
GovInfo.gov

GveInfo offers a new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government. GPO receives information from Federal agencies and organizations in all three branches of the Government. Its content feeds The Library of Congress’ www.congress.gov and the Federal Register site. 

[More details]

Starting Points

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]
The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Entrepreneurship Database

This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.

[More details]
This database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats - from video to downloadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional text and PDFs.
ProQuest Central

This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Comparable to EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete.

[More details]
This database serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels. Covering more than 160 subjects areas, ProQuest Central is the largest aggregated database of periodical content. This award-winning online reference resource features a highly-respected, diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.

Databases for Consumer Research

Business Market Research Collection

Contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research with information from these sources: Hoover's Company Profiles - information about more than 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, financials, competitors, officers, and more; OxResearch - succinct articles covering regional economic and political developments of significance from a network of 1,000 faculty members at Oxford, other leading universities, and think-tanks; Snapshots - market research overviews on 40+ industries and 40 countries.. Part of ProQuest Central.

[More details]
ReferenceUSA

ReferenceUSA helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. The database includes access to information about more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. homeowners and movers. ReferenceUSA's quality information helps researchers, students and job-seekers answer a wide variety of questions, and saves them valuable time and money.

[More details]
ReferenceUSA helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. The database includes access to information about more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, and U.S. homeowners and movers. ReferenceUSA's quality information helps researchers, students and job-seekers answer a wide variety of questions, and saves them valuable time and money
SimplyAnalytics

Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.

[More details]
Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
Passport

Euromonitor's Passport database contains data for countries around the world covering consumer market sizes, market data & forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, country risk and more.  Features millions of statistics and in-depth reports on 27 industries with demographic, macro and socioeconomic data and analysis on consumers and economies in 210 countries worldwide.

[More details]
Statista

Statista aggregates statistical information on over 60,000 topics from more than 18,000 sources, including market research institutes, trade organizations, scientific journals, government databases, and many other private and public resources.  

[More details]

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A
Chat requires JavaScript.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED