Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Course number: 
PLS 209

Recommended Starting Points

SIRS Knowledge Source

A portal to relevant, credible information selected by SIRS editorial staff. Designed to support student research, study, and homework in key curricula subjects. Includes articles, primary sources, websites and graphics. SIRS is comprised of Issues Researcher (covering the leading issues most studied and debated by students), Government Reporter (historic and government gocuments, directories and almanacs), SIRS Renaissance (current perspectives on the Arts & Humanities) and WebSelect (editorially selected web sites). Comparable to Points of View Reference Center.

[More details]
Contains information about current important, newsworthy topics. If you scroll down to "Browse all Pro/Con Issues" and then click on "Environment and Science," you are likely to find relevant (non-scholarly) sources.
CQ Researcher

The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week.

[More details]
Similar database to SIRS Knowledge Source. Click on "Browse Topics" and then "Environment, Climate, and Natural Resources" for relevant information.

Recommended Databases

Political Science Database

Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including such topics as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics. This database provides access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

[More details]
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, law, public administration / policy, and public and international affairs.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS)

The Public Affairs Information Services database provides information on business, public and international affairs, public and social policies and international relations. PAIS includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

[More details]
Environmental Science Collection

Contains environmental science related full-text articles, access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Comparable to EBSCOhost Environment Complete.

[More details]
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management

This multidisciplinary database, provides unparalleled and comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

[More details]
Web of Science - Core Collection

Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

[More details]

Government Resources

US EPA

Official website for the United States Environmental Protection Agency

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Stephanie
Crowe
Social Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2058

Twitter: @shcrowe

Contact Librarian

Peter
Fritzler
Sciences Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2060

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED