Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Course number: 
PBH 452
Instructor: 
Figueroa, Jorge

Sources for Statistics and Data

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)

The CDC's scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations. Use this source to find recent data and statistics about disease prevalence and incidence.

[More details]
WHO Global Health Organization Publications

The GHO issues analytical reports on the current situation and trends for priority health issues. A key output of the GHO is the annual publication World Health Statistics, which compiles statistics for key health indicators on an annual basis.

[More details]
CDC - National Center for Health Statistics

Statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.  NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.

[More details]
CDC Fast Stats

Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

[More details]

Additional Online Resources

Outbreak Science

Outbreak Science, a nonprofit founded in 2016, aims to support open data, open access, and open science in the context of epidemic responses. Find preprints, data, and rapid reviews related to outbreaks.

[More details]
The Guide to Community Preventative Services

The Community Guide is a website that houses the official collection of all Community Preventive Services Task Force (Task Force) findings and the systematic reviews on which they are based.

[More details]
CDC - Division of Community Health (DCH)

The Division of Community Health (DCH) strengthens efforts in towns, cities, counties, and tribal areas throughout the nation to help communities prevent disease and promote healthy living.

[More details]

Recommended Databases

PubMED

Developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed is the most comprehensive biomedical research database, and a key resource used by scientists. Please see the PubMed Overview Sheet.

[More details]
Use the Article Type filters to find primary (clinical trials) or secondary (reviews, systematic reviews, meta-analysis) articles on a health or medical topic. Use Interlibrary Loan to borrow articles Randall Library doesn't have.
ScienceDirect

Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.

[More details]
Full-text articles and abstracts from a variety of Journals including Public Health. Try the Article Type / Research Article filter to narrow your results to primary sources.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. A core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.

[More details]
A collection of full text nursing & allied health journals. Full text for more than 770 journals dating back to 1937.
Web of Science

This collection of databases offers an integrated, versatile research platform, it delivers easy access to high quality, diversified scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as search and analysis tools that enhance this content. Includes Web of Science Core Collection, which consists of multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.

[More details]
Use the Document Type filters to find primary (article) or secondary (reviews) material on a health or medical topic. Use Interlibrary Loan to borrow articles Randall Library doesn't have.

Search the Library Catalog

Books and print materials such as government documents can be found using the Library Catalog.

Search by:
UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence based, peer reviewed, clinical decision support tool. Contains the equivalent of over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text; allows access answers to clinical questions quickly and easily; written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to synthesize all relevant information, including the latest evidence, and provide specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment; combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics.

[More details]
Use this clinical tool to get an overview of a disease with excellent references which you can mine for primary and secondary articles.

Contact Your Librarian

Meghan
Wanucha Smith
Health and Human Services Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL 2053

I'm happy to meet with you about your research and information needs. See my availability and schedule a meeting with me using this online form. 

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED