- Find & Research
- Get Help
- Use the Library
- About
- News & Events
Evaluation, Methods, and Policy
This page contains helpful resources related the study of medical sociology and the COVID-19 pandemic in North Carolina. Other helpful resources may be found in the general subject guides for Criminology and Sociology.
Subject:
Semester and Year:
Fall 2021
Course number:
SOC/CRM 502
Instructor:
Ternes, Brock
Starting Points: Books & E-Books
Contemporary Theorists for Medical SociologyRA418 .C6723 2012
The COVID-19 Reader: the science and what it says about the socialRA644.C67 C684 2021
Decentering Health and Care Networks: reshaping the organization and delivery of healthcare
Handbook of the Sociology of Health, Illness, and Healing: a blueprint for the 21st centuryRA418 .H36 2011eb
Ideas about Illness: an intellectual and political history of medical sociology
Key Concepts in Medical SociologyRA418 .G27 2013
Medical SociologyRA418 .C657 2012
Medical Sociology on the Move: new directions in theoryRA418 .M43 2013
Patients, Consumers, and Civil SocietyRA418 .P38 2008eb
Starting Points: Databases
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web is an indexing and abstracting tool covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations, social work, and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
[More details]
Congress.gov
Official website for U.S. federal legislative information. Provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Usually updated the morning after session adjourns.
[More details]
Sage Journals Online
Communication Studies, Criminology, Computer Science, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Business, Humanities, Science and Technology, and Social Work. Includes Sage Journals Backfiles 1999-2009.
[More details]
ScienceDirect
Elsevier Journal collection covering the sciences, business, child development, computer science, clinical research, economics, history, hospitality, industrial technology, library and information science, physical education and health, psychology, social work, sociology, and tourism.
[More details]
Social Science Database
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]
Sociology Database
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, religion, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes over 500 recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology. Part of ProQuest Central.
[More details]North Carolina Resources
NC Health Info
Resource provides information on topics like health conditions, low and no-cost treatment options, and where to find providers and services in North Carolina.
[More details]
North Carolina News Sources
North Carolina News Sources is a collection of more than 190 media sources from across the state, including the Wilmington Star News, the Charlotte Observer, and the Raleigh News & Observer.
[More details]
NCpedia
This site provides an online encyclopedia containing articles covering a broad spectrum of topics, as well as resources about North Carolina, including: historical time periods; biographies; counties and government; geography and environment; business and economy; historical places and monuments; natural resources and natural heritage; and others. NCpedia also includes thousands of images.
[More details]Criminology Librarian
Kiana Webster
Kiana
Webster
Social Sciences & History Librarian
Email:
Phone Number:
Office:
RL2055
Meet with Me: