Faculty and Administrators of UNCW

Summary

This guide identifies collections of UNCW faculty members and administrators, as well as collections that contain related content, such as mentions of faculty or their work within UNCW publications. Collections cover faculty from the first days of UNCW, when it was then Wilmington College, up through present day. Material includes teaching files, research, writings, correspondence, publications, photographs, and personal papers that expand on life outside of academia. Some resources and digitized content are available from University Archives, the repository for official records of all divisions of UNCW and items related to the history of the University.

UNCW Resources

University Archives

University Archives serves as the repository for official records of all divisions of the University of North Carolina Wilmington as well as other items related to the history of the University. We collect, preserve, arrange, describe, and make available these materials in accordance with the Records Retention and Dispositions Schedule for Institutions of the University of North Carolina System.

[More details]
Seahawk DOCKS

Seahawk DOCKS is UNCW's portion of a shared database called North Carolina Digital Online Collection of Knowledge and Scholarship (NC DOCKS). Designed by UNC Greensboro and shared with UNCG, East Carolina University, Appalachian State University, and UNC Pembroke, NC DOCKS is designed to hold digital, online copies of faculty articles, white papers, and other scholarly works, in addition to student theses and dissertations. This type of database is often referred to as an "Institutional Repository," or IR.

[More details]
Faculty Scholarship Collection

University Archives collection. Related to WWII, includes Wartime Wilmington: An Overview by Everard H. Smith, which was published in Lower Cape Fear Historical Society bulletin, 18(1), 1-7, (1999).

[More details]
UNCW Academic Catalogues

The UNC Wilmington undergraduate catalogue is a valuable resource intended for use by prospective and currently enrolled students, faculty, advisors and staff.  The catalogue provides information about the University’s curriculum, academic policies and regulations, degree program requirements and course offerings. In addition, information about admission procedures, financial aid, university facilities and resources, student life, and a Faculty Directory are also included.  Current and archived catalogues can be found here.

[More details]
iLumina

Digital library of sharable undergraduate teaching materials for chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, and computer science.

[More details]
iLumina is a digital library of sharable undergraduate teaching materials for chemistry, biology, physics, mathematics, and computer science. It is designed to quickly and accurately connect users with the educational resources they need. These resources range in type from highly granular objects such as individual images and video clips to entire courses. Resources in iLumina are cataloged in the MARC and NSDL metadata formats, which capture both technical and education-specific information about each resource. iLumina contains thousands of educational resources and several virtual collections. iLumina is being migrated to a new platform and some resources may be temporarily unavailable.

Manuscript Collections

MS 037 Dr. John T. Hoggard Papers

This collection contains correspondence, newspaper clippings and assorted personal papers of Dr. John T. Hoggard.

[More details]
MS 090 T.T. Hamilton Papers

This collection contains primarily personal papers related to the professional career of Thomas T. Hamilton. Included in the collection is Hamilton's curriculum vitae, newspaper articles, photographs, a letter, and a typed document titled,  "Our Challenging Vision," justifying the need to establish Wilmington College. Inclusive dates range from 1948-1989. The photographs in the collection are of John C. Hamilton standing next to a portrait of his father in the Trustee room of Alderman Hall, 1989.

[More details]
MS 092 From These Beginnings: Wilmington College 1946-1969

This collection includes working drafts and notes for Dr. J. Marshall Crews' book, From These Beginnings: Wilmington College, 1946-1969. This book chronicles the early development of Wilmington College, which later developed into the University of North Carolina Wilmington.

[More details]
MS 100 Dr. William Madison Randall Papers

This manuscript collection contains information related to Dr. William Madison Randall's family and career from 1899 to 1972. Included are documents, correspondence, publications, newspaper articles and clippings, photographs and ephemera related to Randall's childhood, military career, career at UNCW, interest in languages and other scholarly pursuits. The collection also includes a tool belt and his graduation robes.

[More details]
MS 101 Fred B. Graham Papers

This collection contains years of written records, including minutes of Trustee meetings, personal and Executive Committee correspondence, news clippings, concerning Wilmington College, and the transition to University status. Mr. Graham held the important position of Chairman, Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of Wilmington College.

[More details]
MS 102 Doug Swink Theater Collection

This collection contains theatre memorabilia from Wilmington College during the 1960s. It includes slides, lecture series programs and tickets, photos, graduation programs, faculty newsletters, and student information bulletins encompassing many facets of student and faculty happenings both on and off campus.

[More details]
MS 110 The Hawk's Eye

The Hawk's Eye was a regular feature article in the Star News written by Carleton Rhodes, a student at Wilmington College. The article was subtitled "News of Wilmington College," and chronicled all the important events and people associated with the college at that time.

[More details]
MS 123 Dr. Gerald H. Shinn Collection

Materials in this collection include Dr. Shinn's curriculum vitae and teaching philosphy, course syllabi, newspaper articles, photographs, various art prints and two framed images of Shinn. Also included is a vast slide collection related to archaeological digs in Israel and the middle east, european travel, art history, archaeological digs at Poplar Grove Plantation, North Carolina Living Treasures recipients and Schweitzer Prizes award ceremonies.

[More details]
MS 153 B. D. Schwartz Scrapbooks

The collection consists of twenty scrapbook albums containing letters, documents, news articles, awards, photos, advertisements, and brochures spanning sixty-seven years. Mr. Schwartz held many local and state offices, including State Representative, State Senator, and Mayor of Wilmington. He was involved in all facets of life in New Hanover County, donating his time to numerous philanthropic and educational organizations, including as Trustee of University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Schwartz Hall, a dormitory on UNCW's campus, was a gift of B.D. and Sylvia Wolk Schwartz.

[More details]
MS 158 Dr. Chris E. Fonvielle Collection

This collection contains papers and historical research of Dr. Chris E. Fonveille, a former history faculty member at UNCW.

[More details]
MS 159 Paul Wilkes Collection

This collection contains the papers, records, research, teachings, and publications of writer Paul Wilkes.

[More details]
MS 161 Dr. James J. Megivern Collection

This collection contains papers and publications of Dr. James J. Megivern, with emphasis on the religious nature of his work.

[More details]
MS 188 Dr. James Merritt Collection

Dr. James F. Merritt, former Professor and Director Emeritus of the Center for Marine Science, dedicated 34 years at UNCW to conducting and facilitating research in the coastal environment. This collection includes materials related to the Marine Expo in Wilmington, N.C., an educational convention that brought together and focused on marine activities in the region. Dr. Merritt helped to organize the event and served as chairman of the first Marine Expo.

[More details]
MS 197 David Lindquist Personal Papers

This collection contains class lectures, research, experiments, various publications, photographs and other information dealing with Lindquist's career.

[More details]
MS 229 Dr. Duncan Randall Papers

This collection contains papers and memorabilia related to Dr. Duncan Randall's personal and family life, his military career with the U.S. Air Force, his academic career as a professor at Wilmington College (now UNCW), and his personal and political interests. Materials include documents, correspondence, newspaper articles and clippings, a stamp collection, emphemera, artifacts, and photographs.

[More details]
MS 235 Dr. Walter C. Biggs Papers

These papers include histories of UNCW, the UNCW Biology Department, Wilmington College and biographical material, alumni newsletters, and newspaper and magazine articles pertaining to Dr. Walter C. Biggs. Also included are early school records dating from 1948-1953, and a copy of the constitution of the Order of Isaac Bear.

[More details]
MS 242 Naming and Description of Fungi

Holotypic camera lucida drawings of newly named and described fungi. They are deposited at UNCW Randall Library Special Collections by Dr. David E. Padgett, Professor in Biological Sciences, UNCW in accordance with the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature.

The five fungi include: Saprolegnia truncata Seymour, sp. Leptolegnia hemihypogyna Seymour, sp. nov. Phragmosporangium uniseriatum Seymour, sp. nov. Pythiopsis irregularis Seymour, sp. nov. Pythiopsis papilliformis Seymour, sp. nov.

[More details]
MS 268 University of North Carolina Wilmington Landmark Committee Records

The purpose of the Landmark Committee was to develop a plan for a University Landmark incorporating the history of Southeastern North Carolina, the present and future of UNCW. Boney Architects were commissioned to take the Committee ideas and research and develop a Landmark Monolith with appropriate landscaping for the University Commons. The Committee and ultimately the plans, were abandoned in 1988, after nearly five years of work. This collection contains the correspondence and planning documents associate with the committee.

[More details]
MS 271 Dr. William H. Wagoner Collection

Dr. William H. Wagoner served as the Superintendent of the New Hanover county school system from 1961-1968, as the fourth President of Wilmington College from 1968-1969 and as the first Chancellor of the University of North Carolina Wilmington from 1969-1990. This collection contains correspondence, publications, newspaper clippings, agendas, photographs, maps and ephemera related to the careers of Dr. Wagoner in Wilmington as well as his personal life.

[More details]
MS 276 Dr. James F. Parnell Papers

This collection contains Dr. James Parnell's research data, photographers, and other materials associated with his research on coastal birds in southeastern North Carolina. Parnell was a long time professor in the Biology Department of UNC Wilmington.

[More details]
MS 278 Pam Toll Papers

This collection documents Pam Toll's work with Acme Studios and as a working artist in the community. Included are personal correspondence, event announcements, certificates, planning and promotional materials for exhibits, news articles and cards. The majority of the material dates from the early 1980s to the early 2000s. Noteable projects represented in the collection include Toll's work with No Boundaries (inspiration for), Paint a Future and Acme Art Studios.

[More details]
MS 283 Terry Theodore Press Kit Collection

This collection consists of press kits owned by Terry Theodore, professor in the Theatre department at the University of North Carolina Wilmington. Kits include printed and digital promotional material for approximately 200 films.

[More details]
MS 323 Melton McLaurin Collection

The materials in this collection are from Dr. McLaurin's personal files, and consist of correspondence, research notes, newspaper clippings, photographs and tapes regarding the 1898 Centennial, Separate Pasts, Celia: A Slave, The Marines of Montford Point documentary, and the North Carolina State Fair. This collection contains both original and photocopied material. Collection not processed. See Special Collections staff for access.

[More details]
MS 332 Dr. Walter H. Conser Jr. Papers

This collection consists of the accumulated working papers of professor, historian, and author Dr. Walter Conser Jr. between 1970 and 2014. The collection is comprised primarily of research materials, in English and German, including articles, magazines, newspapers, books in whole or part, and associated notes; also included are publishing documents, personal and professional corresondence, newsletters, serials, memorablia, personal papers, and materials documenting Dr. Walter Conser Jr.'s participation in professional and academic panels, conferences, and events.

[More details]
MS 356 Dr. Will S. DeLoach Papers

This collection contains 5 framed certificates and degrees, loose certificates, photos, books, and artifacts belonging to Dr. Will S. DeLoach, a former chemistry professor at UNCW who helped found the Chemistry department, and whom DeLoach Hall is named after.

[More details]
MS 357 Andrew Clark Collection

This collection contains 13 photographs from Andrew Clark’s research abroad in Africa, specifically Ghana, Senegal, and Guinea. Photos are of him with locals as well as the landscape and architecture in the three countries. Also included in this collection are original, color illustrated art pieces of two different castles in Ghana and a CD of traditional Senegalese music.

[More details]
MS 377 Phil Furia Papers

This collection contains Professor Furia's teaching documents and records, event and review materials, writings, books, VHS tapes, CDs, and a reel-to-reel tape related to his work at UNCW in the Creative Writing, English, and Theatre departments.

[More details]
MS 382 Philip Gerard Papers

This collection contains manuscript drafts and research material related to specific works of author and UNCW professor Philip Gerard, including articles, photos, and biographical information.

[More details]

Oral Histories

The below are a sampling of available oral histories by those with ties to UNCW. To explore more interviews, please search the Oral History Collection.

Interview with Andrew Hayes (Oral History)

In this visual oral history interview, Dr. Andrew Hayes discusses his background, career, and life as a faculty member in the Watson School of Education. He and his wife Hathia came to teach at UNCW in 1976. He worked with Dean Roy Harkin to redesign the teacher education program and to develop the first master's degree program at UNCW, which was in School Administration. Dr. Hayes discusses the School's growth during his time here and his role in making changes. He also discusses his grants and his service to the Cameron Museum of Art. Dr. Hayes retired in July 2006.

[More details]
Interview with Barbara Greim (Oral History)

In this interview, retired professor Dr. Barbara A. Greim discusses the creation of UNCW's Computer Science Department, including the procedure of receiving approval for the initial Computer Science program, budgetary and new-hire concerns, details concerning the 1998 split from the Mathematics Department, and the particulars of her tenure as Chair.

[More details]
Interview with Betty Sue Westbrook (Oral History)

Ms. Betty Sue Westbrook, retired faculty member, discusses her career at Wilmington College and UNC-Wilmington as a librarian. She spent her library career as a cataloger. Ms. Westbrook began working at the college in 1965 and retired twenty years later. Topics discussed include: increasing library holdings to 50,000 volumes so that the library could be accredited as a 4-year college library; reclassification of the collection from Dewey Decimal system to Library of Congress system; and the important role and contributions of Helen Hagan, library director.

[More details]
Interview with David E. Padgett (Oral History)

Dr. David Padgett discusses his 30-plus year career as a professor of biology and marine biology. He came to UNCW in 1975. Dr. Padgett discusses his service in the Navy, his graduate education, and his teaching and research at UNCW. Dr. Padgett's specialty is marine mycology and aquatic fungi.

[More details]
Interview with Hathia Hayes (Oral History)

Hathia Hayes retired from UNCW's Watson School of Education in 2006, after over thirty years in the department. After joining the faculty of the Department of Education in 1976, Dr. Hayes served as Department Chair for 11 years and played an instrumental role in many aspects of the developing Education program, including the Education Lab and the master's program in Elementary Education. Dr.

[More details]
Interview with James F. Merritt (Oral History)

Dr. James F. Merritt discusses his 30-plus year history at UNCW. He came to the biology department in 1973 (when the university had around 1700 students) to teach courses in genetics and related areas. He moved into administration, first as department chair and then as director of the Center for Marine Science Research following Dr. Ralph Brauer's retirement. Discussion includes Marine Expo in 1985, 1987, and 1989 and the Center for Marine Science facility in Myrtle Grove, which opened in 2000.

[More details]
Interview with Melton McLaurin (Oral History)

In this oral history interview, Melton McLaurin discusses his career in academics. Dr. McLaurin was hired as chair of the UNCW history department, a position that he held until 1991. He discusses the department during this time of growth at the university, the beginning of the graduate program in history, his teaching, and his research. In 1996 Dr. McLaurin became associate vice-chancellor for academic affairs. Although he retired in 2002, he continued his association with the university, serving in various roles.

[More details]
Interview with James F. Parnell (Oral History)

James F. Parnell recounts his career at Wilmington College and UNC-Wilmington. Dr. Parnell came to Wilmington College in 1964, having just completed his Ph.D. at North Carolina State University. He became the fourth member of the biology department. Topics discussed include: the North Carolina Sea Grant program and how it helped fund research at UNCW; Dr. Parnell's research specialization in vertebrate zoology with a specific focus on birds: Dr.

[More details]
Interview with Walter C. Biggs (Oral History)

In the first tape, Walter Biggs introduces himself and begins with his history with UNCW. Dr. Biggs is an alumnus of Wilmington College, having graduated from the college in 1951 back when it was a junior college. He describes Wilmington College during this time, including the layout of the Isaac Bear building. Dr. Biggs was a faculty member of the biological sciences department from 1960-1994. Dr. Biggs discusses the department and some of the people he knew. In the second tape, Dr.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Portrait of Rebecca Baugnon
Rebecca
Baugnon
Special Collections Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J

Contact Staff

Portrait of Nicole Yatsonsky
Nicole
Yatsonsky
Library Specialist
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2042J