Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED

There are many different ways to search for information for business from government sources. Below you will find links to a variety sources and finding aids both governmental and commercial.

Websites

USA.gov

As the U.S. government's official web portal, USA.gov makes it easy for the public to get U.S. government information and services on the web. USA.gov also serves as the catalyst for a growing electronic government.

[More details]
GovEngine

Search federal, state and local government information including federal and state courts.

[More details]
GovSpot

GovSpot.com is a non-partisan government information portal designed to simplify the search for the best and most relevant government information online.

[More details]
State and Local Governments on the Web

State and Local Government on the Net is a frequently updated directory of links to government sponsored and controlled resources on the Internet.

[More details]
Business.usa.gov

Business.gov, the official business link to the U.S. Government, is managed by the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) in a partnership with 21 other federal agencies. This partnership, known as Business Gateway, is a Presidential E-government initiative that provides a single access point to government services and information to help the nation's businesses with their operations.

[More details]
U.S. Small Business Administration

has provided "millions of loans, loan guarantees, contracts, counseling sessions and other forms of assistance to small businesses."

[More details]
State & County QuickFacts - U.S. Census Bureau

Fast, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography

[More details]
Current Population Survey (CPS)

The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.

[More details]
Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Bureau of Labor Statistics has provided essential economic information to support public and private decision-making since 1884.

[More details]
Inflation & Consumer Spending - U.S. Department of Labor

The Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) has various indexes that measure different aspects of inflation.

[More details]
Consumer Credit Data - Federal Reserve

From the Federal Reserve. These data are released around the fifth business day of each month.

[More details]
U.S. Census Bureau - Income

Income Data - from the Census Bureau, Housing and Household Economic Statistics Division

[More details]
National Compensation Survey

The National Compensation Survey (NCS) provides comprehensive measures of occupational wages; employment cost trends, and benefit incidence and detailed plan provisions. Detailed occupational earnings are available for metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas, broad geographic regions, and on a national basis.

[More details]
National Economic Accounts

BEA’s national economic statistics provide a comprehensive view of U.S. production, consumption, investment, exports and imports, and income and saving. These statistics are best known by summary measures such as gross domestic product (GDP), corporate profits, personal income and spending, and personal saving.

[More details]
Bureau of Economic Analysis

"promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner."

[More details]
Consumer Price Index

The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.

[More details]
Beige Book - Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions

Federal Reserve Board Beige Book - Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis.

[More details]
Producer Price Indexes - Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output. The prices included in the PPI are from the first commercial transaction for many products and some services.

[More details]
Current Labor Statistics

From the print edition of the Monthly Labor Review.

[More details]
Employment Projections - Bureau of Labor Statistics

The Employment Projections Program develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for 10 years in the future.

[More details]
North Carolina Labor Statistics

United States Department of Labor's statistics on North Carolina.

[More details]
Selected Interest Rates Daily

The weekly release is posted on Monday. Daily updates of the weekly release are posted Tuesday through Friday on this site. If Monday is a holiday, the weekly release will be posted on Tuesday after the holiday and the daily update will not be posted on that Tuesday.

[More details]
Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM)

The Annual Survey of Manufactures (ASM) provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee.

[More details]
Industrial Production and Capacity Utilization

The Federal Reserve's monthly index of industrial production and the related capacity indexes and capacity utilization rates cover manufacturing, mining, and electric and gas utilities. The industrial sector, together with construction, accounts for the bulk of the variation in national output over the course of the business cycle. The industrial detail provided by these measures helps illuminate structural developments in the economy.

[More details]
Foreign Trade Statistics

FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need.

[More details]
Tariff and Trade Dataweb

Contains export prospects and market information for various countries and regions.

[More details]
TradeStats Express

From Export.gov - Presented by the Office of Trade and Industry Information (OTII), Manufacturing and Services, International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce.

[More details]

Starting Points

LexisNexis Academic

News, business, communication studies, criminology, foreign languages and literatures, legal and reference information.

[More details]
Catalog of Government Publications (CGP)

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word. The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal depository library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information.

[More details]

Databases

Statistical Abstract of the United States

The Statistical Abstract is the best known and most popular single source of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. This database is designed to serve as a convenient, easy-to-use statistical reference source and as a guide to statistical publications and sources.

[More details]
Statistics of U.S. Business

U.S. Census Bureau. A free online resource for statistical business information.

[More details]
American FactFinder

American FactFinder is a search engine that provides access to the population, housing and economic data collected by the Census Bureau. American FactFinder can be used to retrieve data from the 1990 and 2000 Census, Population Estimates, Economic Census and Surveys and American Community Survey (ACS). Some of the data from these programs will not be available for rural communities.

[More details]

Contact Librarian

Beth
Kaylor
Coordinator of Business, Entrepreneurship and Government Information Research
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2062A

Need Help?

Chat requires JavaScript.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED