Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Search the Library Catalog


Search by:

Websites for Film Studies

Lantern Media History Digital Library

Lantern searches an index of nearly 2 million pages. Each document maps to a specific page in our collection. By searching every page as a unique document, our search engine can run quickly and efficiently.

The underlying books and magazines, on the other hand, were scanned and cataloged as bound volumes. This is why Lantern displays a specific page but the metadata refers to the bound volume in which the page appears.

 

[More details]
Internet Movie Database (IMDB)

Offers reliable information (production details, release dates, distribution information) on films, directors, actors.

[More details]
Film Studies for Free

"Film Studies for Free actively espouses the ethos of Open Access to digital scholarly material. It aims to promote good quality, online, film and moving-image studies resources by commenting on them, and by linking to them."

[More details]
Moving Image Source

"Moving Image Source is a website devoted to the history of film, television, and digital media. It features original articles by leading critics, authors, and scholars; a calendar that highlights major retrospectives, festivals, and gallery exhibitions at venues around the world; and a regularly updated guide to online research resources."

[More details]
Cinemetrics

"Movie measurement and study tool database."

[More details]
Box Office Mojo

Box Office Mojo is the leading online box-office reporting service. It is owned and operated by IMDb.

[More details]

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

Listing of cinema and film related journals.

This list is not comprehensive and the library may not have access to all journals listed.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals

Film Studies

Film Studies UNCW

Recommended Databases

Below is a list of subject specific databases to do research in Film Studies.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film studies. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, screenwriting and reviews.

[More details]
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

[More details]
Film Literature Index

Film Literature Index Online annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film studies and television.

[More details]
Film Index International

Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.

[More details]
Project MUSE

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, to high quality humanities, arts, art history, creative writing, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, history, religion, theatre, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers.

[More details]
JSTOR

Scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences. 

[More details]
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides content in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

[More details]
America: History & Life

America: History & Life provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years.

[More details]
Film Scripts Online

The Film Scripts Online Series contains over 1,100 scripts and makes available accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays. Film scholars can compare the writer’s vision with the producer’s and director’s interpretations from page to screen.

[More details]

Streaming Video Collections

Alexander Street Press

Alexander Street Press is a publisher of award-winning online collections and videos for scholarly research, teaching, and learning. Content is carefully curated by expert editors around specific subjects and disciplines, sourced from producers and archives around the globe.

[More details]
American Film Institute Catalog

AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. An essential film studies database, the AFI Catalog is a unique filmographic resource providing an unmatched level of comprehensiveness and detail on every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.

[More details]
American Film Institute Catalog is a unique filmographic resource providing information on every feature-length film produced in America or financed by American production companies. Detailed information on cast, crew, plot summaries, subjects, genres and historical notes are included for each film. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards.
Docuseek2

Essential documentary films for higher education, includes over 800 streaming video titles. Searchable, interactive transcripts. Videso can be linked to or embedded in Blackboard. Features exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films.

[More details]
Ethnographic Video Online

A comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.

[More details]
A comprehensive online resource for the visual study of human culture, behavior and society around the world. The collections contain over 1,300 hours of streaming video, including ethnographic films, documentaries, select feature films, and previously unpublished fieldwork.
Filmakers Library Online

An essential film studies database, Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

[More details]
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Kanopy Streaming

Access to The Media Studies & Communication Collection produced by The Media Education Foundation: This collection is tailored to address issues of media ownership and its effect on content, representation, advertising, journalism, and other issues central to media studies.

[More details]
NC LIVE Video Collection

An essential film studies database streaming videos on American History, Arts, Biography, Business & Investing, Cultural Studies, Current Issues, Education, Health, North Carolina, Science, World History.

[More details]
NC LIVE Video Collection provides streaming videos on American History, Arts, Biography, Business & Investing, Cultural Studies, Current Issues, Education, Health, North Carolina, Science, World History.
PBS Video Collection

You can now view nearly 250 quality PBS programs covering a wide variety of topics. These videos are viewable from any computer running Flash Player version 9 or higher with a relatively good Internet connection (at least 175 Kbps). A great database for music studies. Unfortunately, it will not be possible to view the videos over a dial-up Internet line.

[More details]
Swank Digital Campus

Streaming video library of over 200 feature films (comedy, drama, romance, documentary, thriller, crime etc.) through Swank. Allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom. Films can be viewed by unlimited simultaneous users.

Disney titles are not findable in the Swank video library, but you can watch them by clicking the direct watch link available in this spreadsheet:

Swank Disney Title List (XLS)

[More details]
Theatre in Video: Volume I

Theatre in Video: Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. From celebrated productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett, the collection covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.

[More details]
Theatre in Video: Volume I contains hundreds of videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the world’s most important plays. It covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Theatre in Video: Volume II

Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. With a greater focus on contemporary and international productions, Theater in Video: Volume II offers a simple way for libraries to acquire highly valued and often difficult-to-find performances. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.

[More details]
Theatre in Video: Volume II brings together classic and contemporary plays and documentaries. Users can view the works of widely studied playwrights and theatre artists from around the globe, including many new performances from Shakespeare's Globe Theatre collection (Opus Arte), Theatre Arts Films, the BBC, and TMW Media Group.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. They have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. 

[More details]

Quick Search for Film Studies

Lisa Coats

Portrait of Lisa Coats
Lisa
Coats
Humanities Librarian
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL2055

Liaison Librarian to Creative Writing, English, Film Studies, Philosophy and Religion, World Languages and Cultures

Interlibrary Loan

If we do not have the full-text of the articles, or a book you need, fill out the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) form and request it. This is a free service for students, faculty, and staff. 

ILL page: http://library.uncw.edu/ill

Need Help?

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED