Economics and Finance Research

NOT PUBLISHED

Subject:

Semester and Year:

Spring 2022

Sage Research Resources

Sage Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods contains more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The site is designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method. Access includes research methods case studies and datasets.

[More details]

SAGE Research Methods: Reviewing the Literature

The literature review is an important part of every research project. This guide takes you through the literature review process, explaining the reasons for reviewing the literature and differentiation between the types of literature available.

[More details]

Sage Research Methods: Video

Randall Library has temporary access to the following Sage Research Methods: Video collections through June 26, 2020.

SAGE Research Methods Video Collection
SAGE Research Methods Video Practical Research and Academic Skills Collection
SAGE Research Methods Video Data Science, Big Data Analytics, and Digital Methods Collection
SAGE Video Research Methods Market Research

[More details]

eBooks

Research methods in international business

Literature Review and Research Design

Encyclopedia of finance

QFinance : the ultimate resource

Financial Econometrics: from basics to advanced modeling techniques (Book 1)

The Basics of Financial Econometrics: Tools, Concepts, and Asset Management Applications (Book 2)

Dissertations and theses from start to finish : psychology and related fields

Key Academic Journals

Journal of Finance

Journal of Financial Economics

Journal of financial and quantitative analysis

The Review of financial studies

Financial analysts journal

Financial Data Sources

Included in Wharton Research Data Services (WDRS) are several data sources e.g. AUDIT ANALYTICS, COMPUSTAT, CRSP, EXECUCOM, TRACE, MERGENT FISD, PENN WORLD TABLES, MSRB and more. Under WRDS click "More details" to explore tutorials for data gathering.

S & P Market Intelligence Quick Guides & Short Videos

Bloomberg

Information about where to find Bloomberg-accessible workstations in the Randall Library.

[More details]

DealStats

DealStats is a robust online database that boasts the most complete financial details available on 29,300+ acquired private companies, with up to 149 data points that include six valuation multiples and 13 financial ratios. Each transaction includes detailed data to apply the market approach, derive a selling price, benchmark performance, or perform a fairness opinion analysis and BVR analysts rigorously review every transaction to ensure the most trustworthy data.

[More details]

IBISWorld

A comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research. IBISWorld is a powerful business tool to learn about existing clients or potential clients’ core industries of involvement & how changes to those industries can have an impact on you or your organization.

[More details]

Key Business Ratios

(KBR) provides immediate online access to competitive benchmarking data. This powerful tool lets researchers examine industry benchmarks compiled from D&B®’s database of public and private companies, featuring 14 key business ratios (users choose a one-year or three-year set of ratios) for public and private companies in 800 lines of business.

[More details]

Mergent Archives - Key Business Ratio Archive

The D&B Industry Norms and key Business Ratios are made possible through over one million financial statements in the D&B Financial Information Base. This file consists of U.S. corporations, partnerships and proprietorships both public and privately owned, in all size ranges, and includes over 800 different lines of business as defined by the U.S. Standard industrial Classification (SIC) code numbers. The data is collected weekly, maintained daily, and constantly edited and updated.

[More details]

Mergent Online

Mergent Online, source for global business and financial information on over 10,000 U.S. public companies, and 17,000+ non-U.S. public companies, as well as extensive corporate and municipal bond, UIT, and dividend information.

[More details]

NetAdvantage (from S&P Global)

Resouce provides industry, company, and investment analyses including S&P Industry Surveys and Stock Reports (S&P Equity Research). Website also contains a “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, etc.

[More details]

New York Stock Exchange Trade & Quote (NYSE TAQ)

Daily TAQ (Trade and Quote) provides users access to all trades and quotes for all issues traded on NYSE, Nasdaq and the regional exchanges for a single trading day. It’s a comprehensive history of daily activity from NYSE markets and the U.S. Consolidated Tape covering U.S. Equities instruments (CTA and UTP participating markets). Subscription includes data from 2012 to present.

[More details]

PrivCo

Source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.

[More details]

S&P Capital IQ Pro

S&P Global Market Intelligence integrates financial and industry data, research, and news into tools that help track performance, generate alpha, identify investment ideas, understand competitive and industry dynamics, perform valuation, and assess risk. See more about what Market Intelligence has to offer here: https://www.spglobal.com/marketintelligence/en/solutions/market-intelligence-platform

[More details]

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

A comprehensive Internet-based data management system that allows researchers to retrieve information from a wide variety of financial, economic, and marketing data sources. This hosted data service has become the focus for quantitative data research and is recognized by the academic and financial research community around the world as the leading business intelligence tool. You must accept the WRDS Terms of Use (PDF).

[More details]

Free Data Sources

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)

Organization that produces high-quality original research in the areas of macroeconomics, money and banking, and applied microeconomics.

[More details]

IMF Country Data

Resource provides information on countries in the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

[More details]

IMF International Monetary Fund

Organization of 190 countries working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

[More details]

OECD Data

Website provides data from OECD countries and certain non-member economies. The data provided includes a variety of categories including the economy, social challenges, healthcare, climate change, and vaccines.

[More details]

Article Databases & News

ABI/INFORM Collection

The business research database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world. Comparable to EBSCOhost Business Source Complete.

[More details]

Business Insights: Global

Business Insights allows researchers to use in-depth information on U.S. businesses, industries, and products. The database includes

[More details]

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate offers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. The database includes more than 27,000 videos from Harvard Business Publishing, IGI Global, Kiplinger Washington Editors, the Academy of Management and other top providers, as well as more than 75,000 videos from the Associated Press.

[More details]

Financial Times Historical Archive

Financial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper since 1888 can be searched and browsed. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.

[More details]

EconLit

EconLit, the American Economic Association’s electronic database, is the world’s foremost source of references to economic literature. This database contains more than one million records, with citations and abstracts dating back to 1886. EconLit covers virtually every area related to economics.

[More details]

Google Scholar

Search engine for scholarly literature such as articles, papers, theses, books, and reports.

[More details]

JSTOR

Archive of selected scholarly journals in anthropology, art, art history, communication studies, criminology, ecology, economics, education, English, film studies, foreign languages and literatures, geography, geology, history, mathematics, music, philosophy, political science, public and international affairs, religion, social work, sociology, statistics, theatre, and other humanities and social sciences.

[More details]

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global

A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

[More details]

Social Science Research Network

The Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a huge open-access repository for scholarly papers in law, the social sciences, business, and some other disciplines. Hundreds of thousands of authors have posted abstracts and papers. SSRN has over 750,000 abstracts—and most of the papers are available for free download (PDF).

[More details]

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Digital archive for the Wall Street Journal from 1889 - 2000. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

[More details]

Search UNCW Theses & Dissertations

Browse for Theses & Dissertations

Theses and dissertations from the past two years may not be available in the Library Catalog. For additional help, please visit https://library.uncw.edu/ask.

Search for Theses & Dissertations

UNCW Theses, Dissertations, Honors Papers and Special Projects are searchable through the Library Catalog.

Theses and dissertations from the past two years may not be available in the Library Catalog. For additional help, please visit https://library.uncw.edu/ask.

Enter an author name, title or subject keyword:

Computing Resources

AVAILABLE TO UNCW STUDENTS FREE OF CHARGE:

SAS On demand for Academics

FREE ONLINE:

STUDENT DISCOUNTS AVAILABLE FOR:

STATA

EVIEWS

Open Education Resources

OpenUNC

OpenUNC highlights and advances open research practices, open access publication methods, open dissemination of research outputs and open educational resources. It provides easy access to all open access journals published at UNC institutions as well as open access monographs published by the UNC Press. It also provides links to UNC institutional repositories and open publishing contacts at each

[More details]