Randall Library Home
NOT PUBLISHED
Subject: 

Starting Points

Classical Music Library

Classical Music Library is an ever-growing database of classical music recordings. The collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from medieval times to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

[More details]
For finding songs. Contains a collection of over 30,000 tracks of music recordings, featuring the world's greatest performers from 26 classical labels.
Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.

[More details]
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. For finding songs, use the search box on this page for faster searching.
Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 87,860 CDs with more than 1,247,500 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CD-length recordings are added to the library every month.

[More details]
For finding songs. Contains a collection of over 1,772,000 tracks of music recordings, featuring the world's greatest performers.

Oxford Music Online




Oxford Music Online 

Databases

IPA Source

IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and solo art songs.
 

[More details]
For finding songs and music in collections. IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and solo art songs. Now with over 2000 texts!

Websites

Allmusic.com

For finding songs. A comprehensive reference source for information about all kinds of music, including artists, recordings, and genres.

[More details]
Song Index

This database provides access to many of the songs that the Library has in various song anthologies. You will not find the music or the words here, just the call number and book title.  If we do not own the book, it can be ordered from Interlibrary Loan

[More details]
This database provides access to many of the songs that the Library has in various song anthologies. You will not find the music or the words here, just the call number and book title. If we do not own the book, it can be ordered from Interlibrary Loan
Musipedia

Musipedia uses the "Melodyhound" melody search engine. You can find and identify a tune even if the melody is all you know. You can play it on a piano keyboard, whistle it to the computer, simply tap the rhythm on the computer keyboard or use the Parsons code.

[More details]
You can find and identify a tune even if the melody is all you know. You can play it on a piano keyboard, whistle it to the computer, simply tap the rhythm on the computer keyboard or use the Parsons code.

Contact Librarian

Beth
Thompson
Digital Formats and Metadata Librarian/Lecturer
Phone Number: 
Office: 
RL1023D

Music Subject Librarian

If you wish to schedule research help, please feel free to email me or book a consultation here. Beth Thompson bookings.

Need Help?

chat loading...

Text us at 910-218-0782

You can also get help by email or phone.

Feedback

NOT PUBLISHED